Universal Studios Florida (Orlando) - 2021 All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos) - Tripadvisor

Universal Studios Florida

39,986 Reviews

Universal Studios Florida

39,986 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Orlando
$171.99 per adult
Popular: Booked by 9,898 travelers!
Private Helicopter Tour over Orlando's Theme Parks
$65.00 per adult
Popular: Booked by 806 travelers!
Private tours of Disney and Universal theme parks in Orlando, FL
$982.27 per adult
Popular: Booked by 114 travelers!
Universal Orlando Single-Day Ticket
$209.50 per adult
Full view
Location
Contact
6000 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7640
Get to know the area
Florida Manatee Adventure, Everglades Style Airboat, Wildlife Park & Transport
Day Trips

Florida Manatee Adventure, Everglades Style Airboat, Wildlife Park & Transport

80 reviews
Get ready for a slam packed fun filled day on this Real Florida Adventure. Start your morning with breakfast and an educational overview as you depart to Crystal River. Upon arrival you’ll gear up and board your boat for your manatee swim and snorkel. Learn all about the West Indian manatee from your Captain before diving into the crystal-clear water to snorkel with these gentle giants. Don’t forget those underwater cameras! After your swim it’s off to Homosassa Springs State Park for lunch and a leisurely stroll around one of Florida’s best kept secrets. Before heading back to Orlando, enjoy a pit stop to ride an exhilarating airboat ride on the Withlacoochee River. Hold onto your hats cause this need for speed thrill ride is the perfect way to end the day.
$135.00 per adult
39986Reviews1650Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 25,011
  • 8,594
  • 3,400
  • 1,497
  • 1,485
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KathleenS wrote a review Yesterday
Tampa, Florida1 contribution
Just returned from weekend at Universal. Stayed at Portofino, which is always wonderful. I have had annual pass for past 6 years. I agree with other reviews: STAY HOME. The parks are painful in the heat with masks, and it is not even summer sizzling yet here in Florida. Mask police with bullhorns are roaming to yell that you cannot walk and drink. Usually, one of the bars is a great refuge for adult visitors. No, denied! You need reservations to sit at a bar. Then, good luck getting through the reservation line. Toothsome Chocolate Factory especially annoying where I always visit on trips. Friend and I booted off barstools since didn’t have a reservation. So disappointed in this trip to Universal. Our state is doing great with COVID containment; however, you would never know it in Orlando!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Heather J wrote a review May 8
27 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We were disappointed because as a family of 12, 4 were under the age of 11 and unable to ride most things. We paid $145/ticket for each person, the kids area was closed down, there was a pretty severe storm that rolled through (no fault of the park obviously) and that shut down several things also. You have to buy multi day hopper pass because you can't purchase a single day, multi park ticket and thats $292 for 2 adults! Apparently we didn't research enough to know that the majority of the rides we were looking forward to, were in the Island of Adventure park, and we couldn't access them. We walked the entire park in a fairly short amount of time and half our group went back to the hotel because there was nothing for the little people to do after about 2.5 hours. The other half stayed longer to ride a few things and even at half capacity, we still had to wait 60 minutes for the Harry Potter ride which was cool, but short and not worth the wait. I couldn't imagine waiting hours for it! As typical, food was crazy expensive and just ehhh, ok, parking $26.... There was no sanitization available at the drink refill stations and everyone just kept touching the same surfaces and I never saw anyone wiping them down. We were so excited for this visit and were incredibly disappointed in our first experience.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from UOGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Universal Studios Florida
Responded yesterday
Hi Heather! Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We do offer a 2-Park 1-Day Park-to-Park ticket, I'm so sorry if that wasn't communicated with you. We also apologize that not all of our offerings were satisfactory to every person in your party, we hope that you were able to find some Entertainment or Attraction offerings that were suitable for your entire group. We'd love to hear more about your experience. At your convenience, please contact our Guest Services Team at 407-224-4233 or GuestServices@universalorlando.com. We look forward to hearing from you! -Victoria
Read more
Jewel G wrote a review May 8
Pensacola Beach, Florida19 contributions8 helpful votes
On day one we were seriously aware that no one was enforcing the cleaning, masking or distancing restrictions. The staff at the stores in CityWalk were rude and not accommodating. The parks were ok during the week but its dirty with long chaotic lines. The only reason to go is to see Harry Potter in my opinion. My suggestion is go during the week and go early otherwise you will be packed in with hundreds of others in the heat without proper restrictions. We stayed in the last day to watch the reality tv show that was occurring hourly between patrons and staff by the pool at the hotel. Save your money and go to Disney.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from UOGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Universal Studios Florida
Responded yesterday
Hello! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear your visit with us was not satisfying. We do train our Team Members to be kind and accommodating to our Guests, I'm sorry if you're experience did not reflect those values. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in that section of the park. We'd love to hear more about your experience. At your convenience, please contact our Guest Services Team at 407-224-4233 or GuestServices@universalorlando.com. We look forward to hearing from you! -Victoria
Read more
Sarah L wrote a review May 7
Lake George, New York38 contributions12 helpful votes
Our family did both parks in two days during COVID, with a park hopper. We intentionally chose this time to go in the hopes of lower crowds due to reduced capacity limits. We also picked the first week of May for the same reason - hoping for slightly lower crowds. It was our first time to Universal theme parks, and we had a great time. My kids are probably unusually adventurous and hardy (as a friend of our says, they are like little Vikings), so at 11 and 6 they both had a blast here, and found it a little more exciting than Disney (“less boring” as my 6 year old said). We did opt for the unlimited Express-pass, and we were not sure it was worth it. This could be due to the reduced capacity. Which I will say I can’t imagine these parks with 50% more people in them. I would never come here during peak season, as the parks themselves are more compact than Disney. We had the ability to child-swap with the family we came with, so all of us were able to ride most of the rides twice. So by the second day, we didn’t really want to ride anything again, which made the unlimited pass seem unnecessary. I wouldn’t come here without at least the one time express pass though, because in two days we did everything! Overall, we found the food situation a bit difficult to navigate, but I feel like once you get to know it, it made more sense. It was hard to just find food when you were hungry without excessive waits. The mobile ordering was not really intuitive, and we couldn’t get my account working to try it anyway. Here’s what we loved about US. Diagon Ally is amazing, and we spent quite a bit of time here. There are more 3D-4D rides on this side, and we really enjoyed them, although not everyone in our party was as interested. My daughters loved the Simpsons ride and it’s pretty funny. In fact one of the things we enjoyed about Universal, was a lot of laughs, wit, humor and the sense of immersion in the movie. Drawbacks were few, the main one being the Wand Experience, which is a hyped up sales pitch. A tip is get there during early admission if you can the first day and sign up it, then purchase the wand. After the experience we didn’t have the heart to say no to them, and ended up buying two more wands. The other disappointing thing was they only chose our oldest daughter for the show. Luckily I asked about it as they ushered us out (as I didn’t that understand going into it), and they nicely called us back in. They did a truncated version of the show for my little one, but she rolled with it. My youngest always seems to get the short end of the stick, so I was initially mortified by this, as she just wilted as we were walking out. My tip would be to let the wand master know that both kids need a wand (they did both the kids for the family we were traveling with) or ask about booking different times.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from UOGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Universal Studios Florida
Responded 2 days ago
Hello! Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your first experience at our resort, and we're so glad that everyone in your party were able to find offerings to enjoy! The Universal Express Pass is designed to give our guests an enhanced theme park experience, so we're happy to hear that you were able to experience all of our offerings several times; my personal favorite is the Incredible Hulk Coaster in Islands of Adventure! We're sorry to hear that you had a difficult time when initially navigating our food offerings, we hope one of our Team Members was able to offer assistance! We also apologize that your youngest daughter was not chosen for that experience. At this time, there is no pre-arrangement on the guest chosen for that experience, and Guests are chosen at random to ensure fairness for all Guests, so I'm glad to hear that those Team Members were able to assist in making your experience memorable! We'd love to hear more about your experience to ensure that this is shared with the proper teams for documentation. At your convenience, please contact our Guest Service Team at 407-224-4233 or GuestServices@universalorlando.com. We hope to see you again soon! -Victoria
Read more
amway60436 wrote a review May 6
Chicago, Illinois13 contributions13 helpful votes
First off most of the information given to me by Guest Services over the phone was inaccurate. The dining plan is only good within the parks according to a staff member at our resort and the refillable cups are only good in the parks as well. The freestyle cup has to be activated daily which is a major inconvenience since you have to wait in long lines just to activate a cup then go look for a station to fill it at. A staff member at our resort actually told us even though 1 of the restaurants within the resort is listed as quick service facility they don't accept the dining card and when I mentioned it to a staff member at the park she seemed surprised and said "I guess I learned something today." The 2 park per day ticket is only good for the theme parks which I had been told it applied to all 3 parks. If you want to go to Volcano Bay you have to purchase the 3 park ticket. The photo package was a total waste of money. Only a few rides take pics and I only saw 1 person in front of the theme park taking pics which I never got since she told me she couldn't scan my photo pass she had to give me a different card each time and I wasn't able to download them. Maybe we are a little spoiled by Disney since everything is extremely convenient with them. Everything with Universal is unorganized and wastes a ton of time. If they made everything accessible through the app it would be so much easier. The only thing good about Universal is they keep the ride lines moving and the wait is not that long at all but summertime may be different.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from UOGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Universal Studios Florida
Responded yesterday
Hello! Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your experience with our Dining Plan was not satisfying. We do our best to make sure our Team Members are aware of all aspects of the resort so that we can provide our Guests with accurate information; we apologize if your experience was not in line with those values. We also apologize for your experience with our Photo Package, we hope to make every visit to our resort memorable. We'd love to hear more about your experience. At your convenience, please contact our Guest Services Team at 407-224-4233 or GuestServices@universalorlando.com. We look forward to hearing from you! - Victoria
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Universal Studios Florida