Snowpiercer (TV Series 2020– ) - Snowpiercer (TV Series 2020– ) - User Reviews - IMDb
Snowpiercer (TV Series 2020– ) Poster

(2020– )

User Reviews

Review this title
499 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Not a Bad Show - dystopian intrigue that leaves you thinking
chrisstineb9 June 2020
Don't be misled by the reviews. This show is interesting and leaves you wanting to know more about the setting. Is it an award winner - no. Is it entertaining and suspenseful - yes. Does the intrigue make you want to keep watching - absolutely. I read the user reviews before watching but decided to give it a shot regardless of the low ratings because I was I intrigued by the concept. I haven't watched the movie nor have I read the source material. I've now watched 4 episodes and I'm hooked. To enjoy this show you first need to accept that the premise is unrealistic. What it does accomplish is a very interesting analogy of classism. Many people seem to dislike the police procedural plot. I enjoyed it and I think it succeeds as being a plot device to give the audience a tour of the train from the perspective of someone in the lowest class, while showing the massive injustices between the haves and the have nots. Give Snowpiercer a chance if you enjoy dystopian genres and you aren't too picky about technical realism but want something that will make you think about the ugliness of wealth privilege.
196 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jennifer Connelly is one hell of an actress!
alisauskasarnas13 July 2020
Jennifer Lynn Connelly's acting is phenomenal. I'm literally watching "Snowpiercer" just to see her. She's divine. In my opinion, the plot is just great. All and all, I thoroughly enjoyed the "Snowpiercer" and I can't wait for season two.
119 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I don't understand the bad reviews.
DavidPetutschnig2 June 2020
First of all lets make one think clear, this is a show in a sci-fi setting and Sci-fi has always been experimenting with cheesy and illogical concepts. I don't know why people forgot that. Of cource the idea of a endlessly running train isn't realistic nor would the class system of the train work in real life, but thats not the point of the show. You wouldn't say that fighting with laser swords or travelling through time in a car is very realistic, but it is definitely fun to watch. That is why (at least for me) Snowpiercer works. Is it a show that would win awards for groundbraking acting or writing? No, probably not. But the story is definitely thrilling, the set pieces are fascinating and I am extremely invested in the show.
401 out of 548 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Intresting
tahahassan828 June 2020
People are weird. Sometime really ridiculous TV series and movies gets very good reviews and sometime decent series gets bad. This TV series is the example of later. It's not an Emmy winning series but nevertheless quite interesting to watch. The actors are doing good job and the plot has some life to it. I am not sure, how come some science fiction movies and TV series, like Star Wars, gets high ratings, despite being quite away from reality but some get judged based on scientific laws.
191 out of 271 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't Take It Literally ... Enjoy the Ride. bad casting on Daveed.
For those stating that the premise of a train wrapping around the globe that has to keep running is too unrealistic - that is correct. Though it's a great metaphor for how our class based elitist society is part of a never ending circle that, given the right circumstances , could entirely collapse at any moment.

So no, train like this isn't possible. But that's not the point. Watch the story unfold and if need be pay attention to everything else and let the train part fall to the background. Either way, it's an interesting story and the acting is well done. The scenery is amazingly well thought out , and for a pilot episode they did decent job knocking it out of the park.

I wasn't the biggest fan of the film- but I'm quite interested to see how they do with this. So far, so good.

WARNING - you do need an imagination to watch this show. So if you take everything too literally you won't enjoy it.

The only unbearable part of this show is daveed Diggs- he doesn't sell the part very well at all. The show would be much better without him as a centrepiece: it's a shame they couldn't find Idris or someone a bit more captivating in their acting - Diggs is lacklustre at best and he's outshined by every other character , even the background ones.
266 out of 444 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Don't buy in to the hate. Not yet atleast.
roonayk21 May 2020
I loved the movie, and I have been looking forward to this show for ages and I was not let down. The only thing I was let down by was the poor ratings. Can't wait for the next episodes. Great start to the shows!
64 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horrible casting
yurilima-898107 July 2020
This Daveed guy is just horrible as main character
95 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Definitely intrigued
hayleyscomett19 May 2020
It's not bad. I gave a 7 with the potential for higher numbers as this progresses. Not sure why others gave such harsh reviews and low numbers. Geeesh give a new show a chance! I never saw the movie, so I have no comparison to offer. For a first episode I'm intrigued enough to want to see more. Isn't that what most want from a pilot episode? Plenty of characters and potential for expanding storylines. The hour went by very quickly and previewed the upcoming season at the end of the episode. If you liked the Hunger Games this seems to be a similar vibe, although more gritty.
136 out of 259 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Did we want this?
HeirOfDorne18 May 2020
Did we really need a snowpiercer show, how far can a train ride really go? The main plot so far, a back car passenger being hired to investigate a front car murder, doesn't seem believable. The front car rich want absolutely nothing to do with the back car, I find it hard to believe they would swallow their pride and higher the lone homicide detective when they have police among them. That aside this really feels like a TNT show, horrible cinematography and editing. Not really buying into the characters after one episode either, but we'll give it another shot. Nothing about this seems better than the movie, which on of itself was barely above mediocre.
300 out of 602 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's not a "detective drama" you idiots!
moomin7719 May 2020
One of the main characters playing detective is just a device to drive the plot which is about the train and the different classes of passengers which provides the subtext of our society in general.

So far I think this adaptation is much much better than the movie (which was very bad IMO.) This TV version of the story feels like it has room to breathe and have some nuance and layers which the movie didn't do because they spent too much time on the fighting scenes so that didn't allow enough time for the story to grow past the basic contrived points.

Hopefully the TV series will go more in depth and be more thought provoking than the movie. So far so good, I really liked the 1st episode.
117 out of 224 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Monotone Acting
igbogirl27 May 2020
I am a huge fan of the first one with Chris Evans but this one is more of a nuisance and the lead character, Andre, is so passive and monotone with his emotions. He doesn't strike me as a leader like the character in the movie did. I can tell, this is going to be a waste of time. The story is no better.
192 out of 380 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun ride if you're into detective stories
alexgurasich3 June 2020
I understand the hate this show is getting because so many hold the Bong Joon Ho film and its predecessing graphic novel in very high regard, myself included. While this show may not handle the class-related subject matter as eloquently as its counterparts, I think its a very engaging show for anyone who enjoys the setting and wants to see more stories told through the lense of The Snowpiercer train. Give it a shot, because I truly enjoy learning more lore about the Snowpiercer train which seems believable. I could definitely see this show expanding more upon the lore that was already built up, and I'm willing to go along on the ride.
64 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What are these people doing.
centuryerror20 May 2020
Did they even watch the original movie? The characters are so dead, and so badly developed it's actually insane.

There's literally an orgy car with polyamorous couples and drugs, rich people are made to be as obnoxious as possible, poor people are seemingly useless but for some reason they don't just kill them. They couldn't stop global warming but they somehow managed to make an unstoppable around-the-world train when it's permanently snowing...

Clearly these people looked at the movie and thought "I can make a version of this filled with PC culture, and then also make it an investigation thing with a tasteless main character, it'll be great!". Not great.

Unwatchable. Give it a 2 cuz the CGI train looked good and I like CGI.
369 out of 759 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
They sure know how to spoil a good thing!
How not to make a show, take an original interesting premise. Turn it into a detective drama, like we haven't seen those before. Disappointment beyond belief. Alas all good things end. This show is definitely not good and I hope it ends soon.
243 out of 495 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Whoever made this did not understand the source material.
mamoru-sama19 May 2020
The first 2 minutes of the first episode demonstrates pretty clearly to anyone who's actually paid attention during the 2013 movie, that whoever's responsible for SnowPiercer the show did not understand it.
176 out of 353 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Why????
mdrake1019 May 2020
My entire family has been looking forward to this and what a disappointment this is so far. Diggs is a terrible fit for this role. He's very talented, but he lends nothing to this character. I'm going to give it one more episode in the hopes that it gets better.
152 out of 305 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Garbage Acting
elegantbruh31 July 2020
90% of the acting in this show is appalling, it's really the only thing that ruins the show. If they had a stronger cast that wasn't so cringy, this series would be a joy to watch. Another negative would be poor gfx. Apart from that, the storyline is decent and still worth a watch.
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Nope! Not for me
mnjonman19 May 2020
The first episode of any show should be the reason you continue watching. It's called a hook. This show didn't hook me. I couldn't find even one scene I found "Thrilling". I believe this show was developed to cater to a particular audience. I am not one. Good luck to ya.
149 out of 302 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Only for Connelly
kvelstein1 June 2020
TV and movies are trying to cast more females, and minorities in leading roles. Great. As long as they can still act! I don't care what gender or skin of their colour, just hire someone who's good at their job. The acting (minus Connelly) was painful. No connection to the characters, no realistic feel of the story. But maybe that's because of the cliche plot they turned it into. I understand dystopian genre is based on somewhat fantasy and/or predictions, but you still need logic to carry the story. Poor, 'tail' passangers served no purpose for the 'bad' rich in fancy suits (yawn), but still kept them tagging along. Maybe, just unhook the cart? A once accomplished detective brought out of the slums, to solve a rich mystery, while they already framed someone? With that much fierce and ruthless power, supported by a security force, why risk it? All in all, I love me some good dystopian stories, and this one had a lot of potential. I still can't believe show business channels, with budgets and specialised professionals still manage to come up with this...
93 out of 183 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Meh...
protogod18 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Obvious from the start... a homicide detective?! They couldn't come up with a better one?
163 out of 335 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Another Redundancy in Extremo
Tweetienator19 May 2020
The movie from 2013 got an interesting story/concept + a fine production + good actors, and all in all I really liked it - despite some issues of logic regarding the story and world-building. So I had some hopes for the show, but as I just watched the first episode of the show, I just can say no - alone the cheap and boring animated introduction told me that this will be not much of worth. The show is rather a loveless and mediocre production, stereotyped characters and the first sniff of a boring storyline are a great disappointment. My bet: the show will add nothing essential or interesting to the (story of the) movie. My advice: spare some of your lifetime and do more interesting stuff or just take a nap, and, if needed, re-watch the movie = time better spend.
103 out of 209 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
My shortest train ride ever.
silver_hedgehog21 May 2020
Even Hector Salamanca can't save this train wreck. I've already disembarked, no point wasting time giving this nonsense a chance. Resistance is futile!
151 out of 316 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Couldn't even finish the first episode
nkishudak26 May 2020
So disappointed. I was hoping for a good science-fiction drama/action and I got a low-budget nonsense with bad acting.
102 out of 210 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Who decided making this a cop procedural would be a good idea??
philsrim25 May 2020
I have never written a review before, but felt compelled enough to express my negative thoughts on this series. 1st episode was okay...I stopped watching the 2nd episode after 15 minutes. Enough is enough. I don't need another stupid, hackneyed major TV network cop/detective procedural show. Who even decided that this would be a good twist on the movie? Highly predictable. The acting is mediocre. I don't feel for any of them - zero connection or empathy. Do better
100 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Weak lead
bc_global187 July 2020
The show has potential and seems to be at least similar in concept to the movie, but the male lead actor is just not good. Most of the time he has the same demeanor and expressions without any real emotion. Others are better especially Jennifer Connelly but I keep rooting for them to kill off the main guy. I don't think it's going to happen.
30 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed