Google Maps Timeline - Computer - Google Maps Help

Learn more about Google Maps COVID-19 updates.

Google Maps Timeline

Manage your Timeline

Google Maps Timeline shows an estimate of places that you may have been and routes that you may have taken based on your Location History. You can edit your Timeline anytime and delete your Location History in Timeline. Your Timeline is private, so only you can find it. Timeline available on mobile and computer.

If you have settings like Web & App Activity turned on and you pause Location History or delete location data from Location History, you may still have location data saved in your Google Account as part of your use of other Google Sites, apps, and services. For example, location data may be saved as part of activity on Search and Google Maps when your Web and App Activity setting is on, and included in your photos, depending on your camera app settings.

Find your travels

You can find how far you've traveled and the way that you traveled, such as walking, biking, driving, or on public transport. Timeline measures distances in miles or kilometers is based on your country or region.

  1. On your computer, open Google Maps.
  2. Sign in with the same Google Account that you use on your mobile device.
  3. At the top left, click Menu Menu.
  4. Click Timeline Timeline.
  5. To find another date, at the top, choose a day, month, and year.

Find your home & work on Timeline

If you've saved your home and work addresses, they show up on Timeline. In addition to Timeline, this information may also be used in other Google products and services.

Learn how to set your home and work addresses.

Tip: To find places that you've visited recently, click Menu  Menu and then Your places and then Visited.

Edit Timeline

If a place is wrong on Timeline, you can edit the location and when you were there. 

  1. On your computer, go to Timeline.
  2. Find the place that you want to change on Timeline and click Down arrow Down arrow.
  3. Choose the correct place or search for a place in the search box.
  4. To edit when you were there, click the time.

Tip: If Web & App Activity is turned off, you can’t edit locations or activities on Timeline, but you can delete a day or your entire Location History.

Find Google Photos in Timeline

You can view your Google Photos in Timeline. To control if your Google Photos show up in Timeline or not:

  1. On your computer, go to Timeline.
  2.  At the bottom right, click Settings Settings and then Timeline settings.
  3. Under “Timeline,” find “Google Photos.”
    • To stop photos from showing up on Timeline, uncheck Google Photos
    • To show photos on Timeline, check Google Photos.
Tip: You can remove photos from Timeline, but the photos and their metadata won’t be deleted from Google Photos. 
Remove photos

Photos show up on Timeline when they're uploaded to Google Photos. You can delete photos from Timeline, but they won't be deleted from Google Photos.

  1. On your computer, go to Timeline.
  2. In the top right of the photo, click the tick mark for each photo that you want to delete.
  3. Choose Remove photo.
Delete a day
Important: When you delete information from Timeline, it’s permanent. You won’t be able to find your Location History information on Timeline again. If you have other settings like Web & App Activity turned on and you delete Location History, you may still have location data saved in your Google Account as part of your use of other Google Sites, apps, and services. For example, location data may be saved as part of activity on Search and Maps when your Web & App Activity setting is on, and included in your photos depending on your camera app settings.
  1. On your computer, go to Timeline.
  2. Click the day that you want to delete.
  3. In the panel on the left, go to the top right and click Delete Delete .
  4. Click Delete day.
Delete Location History
Important: When you delete information from Timeline, it’s permanent. You won’t be able to find your Location History information on Timeline again. If you have other settings like Web & App Activity turned on and you delete Location History, you may still have location data saved in your Google Account as part of your use of other Google Sites, apps, and services. For example, location data may be saved as part of activity on Search and Maps when your Web & App Activity setting is on, and included in your photos depending on your camera app settings.

To delete Location History:

  1. On your computer, go to Timeline.
  2. At the bottom right, click Delete Delete . You can also click Settings Settingsand then Delete all Location History.
  3. Click Delete Location History.

 

Automatically delete your Location History

You can automatically delete Location History that’s older than 3 months, 18 months, or 36 months.

  1. On your computer, go to Timeline.
  2. At the bottom right, click Settings Settingsand then Automatically delete Location History.
  3. Follow the on-screen instructions.

Turn on or pause Location History

When you turn on Location History, Google records your location data and places in your Google Account, even when you're not using Google Maps. To turn on or pause your Location History:

  1. On your computer, go to Timeline.
  2. Click Settings Settings and then Enable Location History or Pause Location History.

Learn more about how to manage your Location History.

Learn about your data in Google Maps

Your location data in Google Maps

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
true
76697
false