How to Tell if POF Deleted Your Account
Your Plenty of Fish account might not be getting much activity. As a result, you start considering possible causes of such an abrupt change. One that comes to mind is that your account has been deleted.
But how can you know for sure? In this article, you’ll find out how to tell if your POF deleted your account.
Can You Find Out If POF Removed Your Account?
- Can You Find Out If POF Removed Your Account?
- Why Would POF Delete My Account?
- What’s the Difference Between Hiding and Deleting Your Profile?
- Can You Restore a Deleted Account?
- Don’t Be Reckless on Plenty of Fish
As mentioned above, a sudden disappearance of the activity on your profile may be a sign of your account’s deletion. The simple explanation is that there’s no way for other users to reach you if your account has been removed.
Unfortunately, there isn’t a way you can find out by yourself whether POF deleted your account. However, other users can verify if your profile no longer exists. Here’s how they can do it:
- Go to the username search page.
- Search for the username.
If your profile shows up in the search results, this means that POF has hidden your profile. On the other hand, if the profile doesn’t pop up, it’s been removed.
Another way you can check if your profile has been deleted is by going through the messages you exchanged. In particular, if your username or profile photo doesn’t appear in the messages, POF has decided to remove your account.
Why Would POF Delete My Account?
The only reason why Plenty of Fish would remove your profile is if you violated the rules. POF wants to provide a friendly environment for its members which can be jeopardized if you display certain forms of behavior. Here are some of the reasons why POF removes accounts:
You Have a Spouse
Since POF is a website dedicated to matching singletons, it’s not a place for married people. Therefore, if they discover that you’re married, your account will be deleted promptly.
You’re Only Interested in Casual Sex
POF draws a clear line between using the website to engage in a relationship and trying to find casual sex. If POF finds out that you’re only interested in the latter, they will delete your profile without consideration.
You’re Impolite to Other Users
If you’re texting someone rudely or sending them obscene photos, you’re bound to get blocked by that person. If you get blocked too often, your account will ultimately be deleted.
In addition, you mustn’t exhibit any sort of discrimination against sex, race, sexual orientation, disability, etc. The penalty for breaking this rule is also profile deletion.
You Post Inappropriate Images
Another activity POF strictly forbids is posting inappropriate images on your profile. Should you still decide to do so, other users will flag you, and POF will employ its cutting-edge software to locate the content. Consequently, your profile will be gone from the platform.
Logging in from a Country Where POF Doesn’t Operate
Even though POF constantly looks to enter new markets, logging in from countries that don’t have access to the website might result in account removal.
Additional Activities Punishable by Deletion
Other reasons why POF may remove your profile include:
- Soliciting a business.
- Being a minor or a fake.
What’s the Difference Between Hiding and Deleting Your Profile?
If you decide to hide your POF profile, almost no part of it will be detectable. Your profile won’t pop up in the “Meet Me” section, and other users won’t be able to connect with you. Hiding is a more moderate version of deleting your profile. Here’s how to do it on your browser:
- Access your profile and choose “My Profile”.
- Locate the “Hide Profile” button and press it.
- Enter your profile and go to the “Edit” section.
- Scroll until you locate the “Profile Visibility” menu.
- Press the toggle next to the “Hide My Profile” button.
Conversely, deleting your profile will result in its complete removal, along with all the associated settings you made. This includes your photos, conversations, paid subscriptions, preferences, and previous matches. If you choose to go ahead with the deletion, this is what you need to do:
- Open the official POF login website.
- Log in using your name and password.
- Go to the “Help” button at the top of your screen.
- Choose “Remove Profile” among available options.
- Click the link located under the heading “To delete your POF profile”.
- Enter your username, password, and the reason for leaving.
Can You Restore a Deleted Account?
Having the option to restore your old deleted account with all its preferences would be highly convenient. However, that’s not something POF enables you to do as of now. If your profile gets deleted, the best you can do is open a new one and start rebuilding it.
Don’t Be Reckless on Plenty of Fish
To make the most out of your time on POF and avoid a removed profile, you must abide by the community rules. It’ll help you hold on to your profile, which will allow you to meet new fascinating people.
Has POF ever deleted your profile? Do you think it was justified? Let us know in the comments section below.