Top 180 eHarmony Reviews

eHarmony Reviews

eHarmony
Overall Satisfaction Rating 1.30/5
  • 5 stars
    9
  • 4 stars
    4
  • 3 stars
    3
  • 2 stars
    8
  • 1 stars
    156
Based on 180 ratings submitted in the last year

This company is not yet accredited. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review.

Los Angeles-based eharmony launched in the United States in 2000 with its patented Compatibility Matching System® which allows eharmony members to be matched with compatible persons with whom they are likely to enjoy a long-term relationship.

Single? Frustrated with online dating?

Take back control of your love life now with LoveAndMatchmaking

Get Started

Get trending consumer news and recalls

    Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    Are you this business?

    Single? Frustrated with online dating?

    Take back control of your love life now with LoveAndMatchmaking

    Get Started

    eHarmony Reviews

    Sort: Top reviews
    Filter by: Any

    A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

    How do I know I can trust these reviews about eHarmony?
    How do I know I can trust these reviews about eharmony?
    • 2,382,822 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
    • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
    • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
    • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

    For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

    Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10
    Rated with 5 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 7, 2020

    I married The one I met. Almost 10 years now that we have been married. I think the questions, etc. if you answer truthfully it will help out a lot. Process is a bit lengthy but once you get through it it seems to work. Not sure what else to say but try it to see for yourself. I tried Match but that was a big crapshoot. This is all 10 yr ago so not sure how much things have changed since.

    15 people found this review helpful
    Rated with 4 stars
    Verified Reviewer
    Original review: June 2, 2020

    I am a female matching with males. Psychology professor Barry Schwartz found that having an infinite number of choices is detrimental, paralyzing and exhausting. There are many profiles with zero pictures. Many that will message for a day or two and then disappear. I don’t know if it’s eHarmony bots or real men with Choice Overload. Whereas I have 3 matches in my city and one has no picture. One has no eyebrows. And one hasn’t read my message yet. It doesn’t seem like anyone on is there in my age range for a committed relationship.

    On the other hand, my best friend is in the South and she has met her soulmate on eHarmony in the same time I have been a member. Perhaps I am the cursed-in-love one. I do celebrate that eHarmony is global and countries of your desire can be selected to match from. And I do always feel safe on their platform. Each member can easily block and delete with or without a reason. And during the pandemic eHarmony released a new feature in beta testing called Video Date. On sale for $300 for 6 month membership, it does include a fascinating personality profile. So stay positively optimistic, singletons! It’s a confusing frustrating tedious part time job to date online. Every one of us is worthy of being in love.

    20 people found this review helpful

    Not sure how to choose?

    Get buying tips about Online Dating Sites and Services delivered to your inbox.

      Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

      We value your privacy. Unsubscribe easily.
      Rated with 4 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Oct. 2, 2019

      I met my spouse using Harmony. The profile setup takes a REALLY to complete and fill out the needed sections. However, I also REALLY liked the details they required a user to complete because it helps weed out some of the people who are not there to truly date but just hook-up. It also gives a much better way to evaluate potential prospects. And, the first sets of communication allow for you to evaluate potential partners without going on actual dates (saves money from the guys perspective and time/energy on the girls).

      55 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Sept. 18, 2019

      I was divorced 12/27/16 and a friend talked me into going on EHarmony beginning of February 2017 and it was a free weekend so I was hoping just to be able to see who was out there and maybe set up a date. I was so nervous putting myself out there since I have never been on a dating app. One guy name Jeff said hi and we talked and he gave me his phone number and we became friends on Facebook so I gave him my phone number as well. I was 36 years old and he was 42 years old at the time and we texted constantly. Our first face to face date was at Hoss’s Steak and Sea House and Jeff would take me to basketball games and to see the Phillies play and I really fell in love so April 22, 2017 we got engaged at the blue and white game at PENN State football game and were married on Jeff’s birthday August 8, 2017 and we are still married as of today. EHarmony was the best website ever.

      44 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 5 stars
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Sept. 12, 2019

      I always had trouble meeting women due to low self esteem and ended up in an awful marriage in my early 20s. After a nasty divorce, I spent 5 years raising my very young daughter alone. When I decided it was time to start dating, I decided to try eHarmony because of their matching process. I had a few bad matches, but after 6 months (and one day after letting my subscription lapse), I was matched with Sara (2/15/06). I renewed for 1 month so I could talk to her. I proposed on 4/16/06 and we married on 6/16/06. We just celebrated our 13th anniversary! It does work, if you let it. (Finding a mate is not the same as shopping for a car!)

      52 people found this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: Aug. 3, 2020

      I joined this website during Covid-lockdown and here I am several months later with relatively no contact from humans on this site other than one man whose profile was removed because of violating conduct & rules. This use to be one of the leading websites for singles but my experience has been far from that. I'm an attractive female with a well written profile and good pictures posted and it's like a ghost town on this site. Don't waste your money on this one.

      Be the first one to find this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: July 31, 2020

      Please don't get sucked in no matter how desperate you feel! Impossible to cancel your membership. You can't cancel online (although the website leads you to believe you can). You have to email or write. But no one ever answers your emails and there is no phone number to call. There is absolutely no customer service. So now I have to write to California? I guess I have to send a registered letter because how else will I know if they have received it? For all I know it's a bogus address like their bogus profiles... Obviously there is no accountability. There must be some way to warn lonely vulnerable people to avoid this site!! Avoid it like the plague.

      Be the first one to find this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: July 31, 2020

      Total garbage site and service. As trashy as POF but hooked into paying for a full year even after I requested to cancel after 1 day. Absolute trash. Do not recommend AT ALL!!! Zero stars. Do not waste your money or time.

      Be the first one to find this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      profile pic of the author
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: July 30, 2020

      Before signing up and paying such huge amount of money for this app, I had heard good reviews and I thought I give it a shot and see, maybe there will be more serious guys in here and I couldn't be any more wrong in my judgment!!!

      - There are not many guys available in this app because it is expensive.
      - The ones which are available are not any better than the ones who are in free dating apps, oh and to be fair, let me tell you, the guys in free apps are even more fun and entertaining.
      - There are so many profiles of guys without even a single profile pics, let aside the rest.

      - Majority of the guys I contacted follow the same ghosting trend, no difference because it is paid.

      So, what I did, I raised my concerns (not many members according to my filters, no profile pics, impolite and rude guys, etc) to the customer service, and you would be surprised by the response I got from them; here are few:

      - "Your filters are too tight, and your distance is small (50KM) and your age range is low (between 40-45). You can increase the population of the members by increasing the KM to 100 and age range 38-50!!!!" Really? Like no brainer, I can even date someone from Australia if I increase the distance to few thousands! Oh and trust me, I know what age range I am looking for, but thanks for the help!!!

      - You can pass on your membership to a friend by providing so and so code! Oh, how am I even going to refer you to another person when what I see is already awful! I wish I would written a lovely review here, based on an amazing experience I have had with the app, and highly encourage others to subscribe, but nope, that is very remote as I am writing.

      I have had so many communications back and forth and I don't want to bore you with those. All I am saying is, this is a business unit with the same corporate profit and loss concept and they care zero about who is there and who is not there. All they are looking for is money without providing any services. One important thing which was even more surprising, there is no background check on the members joining this platform. If at all you have an extra $250/- in your pocket please do just anything than paying for this app. All these have been purely my personal experience and I am happy for those who paid and got what they were looking for. Is there no rating star or negative that I can choose? :)

      Be the first one to find this review helpful
      Rated with 1 star
      Verified Reviewer
      Original review: July 29, 2020

      This is by far the worst experience I've even had. I joined so that I can try out their services for free as their website says "Start free today." During sign up, they did not give me an option to sign up for free and I had to select a subscription option. After signing up, I contacted customer service to move me to the free option. They told me that I will be charged the full amount of their services for an entire year because I signed up for a subscription and there is nothing I can do. What this company is doing is completely disgraceful... false advertising and taking your money. Please do yourself a favor and research before you end up spending ~$400 to try out their services for "free."

      3 people found this review helpful
      Loading more reviews...

      eharmony author review by Mark Brooks

      eHarmony is the largest dating site geared specifically towards long-term relationships and marriage minded singles. They claim to be responsible for over 500 new marriages every day in the US.

      • In-depth entry questionnaire: eHarmony asks all of its members a little more than 300 multiple choice questions before allowing them to enter into their ranks. This in-depth questionnaire is geared at giving the site enough information to help provide you with qualified potential matches.

      • No Searching: In sharp contrast to other dating sites, eHarmony does not allow members to search directly for matches. Instead, it uses the answers from the questionnaire to provide you with a selection of daily matches that should be compatible with your needs and desires in a partner.

      • Guided Communication: Instead of sending off an email or wink like you would do on most sites, eHarmony takes members through 4 steps of guided communication before allowing you to continue with open communication with a new match. The guided communication is designed to help assure compatibility and that you don't waste energy on bad matches.

      by Mark Brooks Online Dating & Matchmaking Contributing Editor

      Harvard Business School graduate, Mark Brooks, has been an expert in the Internet dating business since 1998. He is currently the CEO of Courtland Brooks, a consultancy agency for the Internet dating industry, and runs OnlinePersonalsWatch.com. He prides himself on being a New Media Futurist and can be reached at LinkedIn.

      eHarmony Company Information

      Company Name:
      eharmony
      Company Type:
      Private
      Year Founded:
      1997
      City:
      Los Angeles
      State/Province:
      CA
      Country:
      United States
      Website:
      help-singles.eharmony.com