Rotten Tomatoes is politically biased and should not be trusted. : unpopularopinion
Press J to jump to the feed. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts
120

Rotten Tomatoes is politically biased and should not be trusted.

120
Posted by2 years ago
Archived

Rotten Tomatoes is politically biased and should not be trusted.

It is no surprise that any time a movie has anything to do with black empowerment, more than 90-95% of critics end up certifying it fresh regardless of the movie’s quality. Ask yourself with a straight face whether a mediocre movie like Black Panther if it had to do with a main character that was not black (say, Hispanic or Indian or Asian or White) would have been certified “fresh” by 97% of critics.

It’s not just Rotten Tomatoes. It’s now perpetuating to the Oscars too. Black Panther was the first superhero movie EVER nominated for an Oscar. Yes, it achieved a feat that not even a masterpiece like The Dark Knight could get. The Dark Knight also had 94% of critics call it fresh btw, compared to Black Panther’s 97%. Despite the mediocrity.

What is most ironic is that these critics are so blind to how much harm they’re causing to their own politics by this process. By continually rating movies of their political liking a high rating regardless of quality, the more likely there will come a time where a TRULY great politically charged movie (like 12 Years A Slave) is produced. But then, people won’t trust the reviews because of Rotten Tomatoes’ past insistence to automatically review political movies to their liking very highly. The Boy Who Cried Wolf but with movies.

37 comments
89% Upvoted
This thread is archived
New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast
Sort by
level 1
Moderator of r/unpopularopinion, speaking officially2 years ago · Stickied comment

Hi everyone! Please make sure to upvote well written unpopular/controversial opinions, and downvote badly written opinions OR popular opinions.

Please note that we are currently removing all political opinions as part of a trial period. If your post is political and was not caught in the filter, please post it in the politics megathread at the top of the sub. Thanks!

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

Vote
level 1
leftist witch
2 years ago

I go with the audience score. Pro reviewers often shill too much.

24
level 2

Audience score will also certify fresh some rom-com-Adam-Sandler movie at times too, soooo

1
level 1

This post is certified fresh

18
level 1
2 years ago · edited 2 years ago

The Avengers, Iron Man, Spiderman: Homecoming, Thor Ragnarok, Captain America, and Wonder Woman are also cheesy, overhyped mediocre superhero movies like Black Panther, that happen to have 90+ rating on RT, yet people complain the most about Black Panther for some reason 🤔

13
level 2

I couldn't believe it but you are completely right. It is like RT lives and breathes these movies.

3
level 1

i agree for the most part but i still think black panther was a good movie. going into it ik hes a african prince so i expected it to be mostly africans(they did pick the whitest of all white people bilbo baggins but thats a different story). my dad said he couldnt enjoy it because he kept thinking of the movie coming to america with eddie murphy lol. Out of all the superhero movies besides the most recent avengers i think black panther was one of the best easily. i even think michael b jordan is a terrible actor even tho hes somewhat decent in that movie. It had a decent story, main character, comeback and atmosphere i really dont get why people have issues with it.

4
level 2

I think the issue is it followed the predictable superhero script in that there were no surprises while watching. It was like most other super hero movies which follow a played out format. It’s not bad by any means but it isn’t significantly better than the other movies which have followed this format.

1
level 1

Lol so no black movie should have a high rating? Sure man. I got you

3
level 1

I would agree. But at this point I think RT is biased towards superhero movies 90% of the time. You have to look at the reviews for other movies. It's like the gravitate towards this mediocre movies constantly.

3
level 1

Counterpoint: every single Tyler Perry movie. Even the socially-conscious dramas he did with Oprah have rock-bottom scores.

6
level 1

What is up with folks constantly shitting on Black Panther? It’s one thing if YOU disliked it but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t a great movie because it was.

3
level 2
Comment removed by moderator2 years agoMore than 1 child
level 1
grenadine addict
2 years ago

Black panther is not the first superhero movie to be nominated for an oscar.

2
level 1
2 years ago · edited 2 years ago

Look no further than Ghostbusters 2016 to see their bias. 74% positive reviews for a mediocre movie simply because it had an all female cast. If the same movie was made with genders flipped - starring Zack Galifianakis, Will Farrell, Ed Helms and Kevin Hart, it would likely be sitting around 35%-40%. That atrocious She-Ra reboot has 100% positive critical reviews.

Critics today filter their reviews through a social lens, which skews their ability to be objective and fair. In essence, they've rendered themselves untrustworthy and useless, and therefore I now get my reviews from YouTubers like Chris Stuckmann and audience scores.

Black Panther was a good superhero film, but far from the best and nowhere near worthy of being a best picture nominee.

2
level 2

I think Audience scores are equally awful as they can easily be brigaded by people with opposing Political views.

it's best to just watch the film for yourself or find a reviewer you have a pattern with liking and disliking similar films.

1
level 1
posting popular opiinions in a subReddit for unpopular opinions
2 years ago

It makes me sad that Youtube rewind talked about how the bullcrap diversity in films is a good thing, it doesn't change a damn thing.

1
level 1
2 years ago · edited 2 years ago

Kind of reminds me of get out. And the subsequent 99% rating it got, and the single bad review it received from a black conservative. Great movie but how are you gonna get around being that patronizing cannibal of black people

Edit for wording- patronizing CANNIBALIZER of black people

2
level 2

Black critics aren't the problem, it's the fucking white SJWs who insert their controversial ideas through Rotten Tomatoes

5
level 1

Of course it is. Its American

1
level 1

In all honesty Black Panther is the second best Marvel movie (behind IW) just because the fight scenes are so cool. I loved it.

1
More posts from the unpopularopinion community
53.0k
Posted by4 days ago
PlatinumGoldSilver27

I've been going to baseball games my entire life. I have well over 1,000 games attended. One of my life long dreams is to catch a baseball in the stands. To me that is a chosen from the baseball gods moment. Lately I've been seeing more and more when someone catches the ball a parent will send a kid over to collect their prize. Everyone boos the person who caught the ball for not giving it to the kid. The person who caught the ball has likely been waiting since they were that kid's age to catch one and now they have an entire section if not stadium bullying them to give it to some little kid that will have 0 appreciation for it because they just did what their parents told them and went and asked for it.

Obviously if I ever catch a ball I will break it to the kid that inevitably gets sent over gently that no, I will not give them the ball AND I will take my boos. But to the parents who send their sex trophy over to collect something that they aren't entitled to, you are horrible parents/people and I don't feel bad that your kid is sad now, it's your fault.

53.0k
2.6k comments
37.8k
Posted by6 days ago
Gold2Silver11

If you have a program for kids and a program for adults, you can't remove videos from the adult site for being not kid friendly.

I should clarify that I mean things like profanity. I think things like heavy gore and pornography should be removed.

That's my opinion. Feel free to debate in the comments section

Edit: in the title, I meant a moral right. I understand that as it is their platform they can do whatever the fuck they want, but I don't think the way they're doing it is alright.

Edit 2: once again emphasizing that it is their platform and they can do whatever they want, but I think it's hypocritical bullshit

Edit 3: I'm hoping this will be the last edit. I have a couple of things to say. First: once again, when I used the word "right" in the title, I did not mean that so literally. It was a case on bad wording and I am unable to edit titles.

Second: I was not aware that this was a popular opinion, so please stop telling me. I got it with the first 12 times people told me. I haven't really heard anyone else complain about it, and I hadn't seen anything on this subreddit.

Third: for those of you telling me that, "If I don't like YouTube make my own platform" Ah yes, I'm going to build a multinational platform from the ground up, just to spite YouTube /s. I don't have the time or money to pull that off.

Fourth: to the person who sent me a death threat in my DM's. Why? I just made a post? There was no need to, and I quote, "slit your wrists and murder your family while you bleed out" what the actual fuck? I have blocked you on reddit and blocked the memory of you from my mind.

37.8k
1.7k comments
30.6k
Posted by5 days ago
GoldSilver11

If you have to point out how " big and strong" you are it just looks like you are a weak scared little person. If you are confident about yourself you wouldn't feel the need to point any thing like that out.

30.6k
2.1k comments
29.0k
Posted by2 days ago
GoldSilver19

I’m not sure how unpopular this is but I personally hate taking pictures.

A big pet peeve is when I’m on vacation with my family or girlfriends family and everyone wants to stop every 5 minutes to take some fuck ass picture in front of something that looks cool. Why can’t we just enjoy it for what it is and cherish that memory in idk?! OUR MEMORY?!

It’s also such a waste. My grandmother has probably a TON of photos and i mean that in weight. They just sit in a box collecting dust.

I also hate portraying a fake smile when I’m having a mediocre time. Yes I’m having a good time but i’m not ecstatic and jumping in joy about it.

Hopefully I don’t sound like a party pooper but it is genuinely annoying.

edit: i didn’t really think this was unpopular. apologies to the triggered.

29.0k
1.8k comments
26.9k
Posted by4 days ago
Silver9

Or waste tons of money to fly an helicopter for days hoping to find your dead body in a cave at 7000 m of altitude because you thought going there was cool and something went wrong. If there is 0% chance to find you alive no one should search for you. If there is a chance and you get rescued you should pay for the costs of the rescue operation and for putting other lives in danger. No one asked you to put your life at risk for no fucking reason.

26.9k
1.5k comments
25.1k
Posted by1 day ago
Silver11

If you call someone, especially a male, a skeleton or a stick, that is 100% as rude and disrespectful as calling someone a fat ass etc.

If you think other wise, think again. There is no logical reason why it’s less offensive. And if you call someone a skeleton etc, you absolutely cannot get upset if they call you a whale.

Edit: I’m about to take a lot of down votes for this but I don’t care: Why are so many people talking to me like I’m a huge body positivity person? I’m not. I do not think all bodies are beautiful. It’s an illogical thing to say? I don’t “celebrate” being skinny. It’s a FLAW. I don’t celebrate or encourage it, the same way I don’t celebrate being fat. The world isn’t out to get us lmao. It’s a FLAW, the same as having a pimple.

I’m simply saying those two things, are equal insults

25.1k
2.2k comments
22.9k
Posted by4 days ago
Silver13

Games such as Red Dead Redemption 2, God of War, the Uncharted Franchise, The Last of Us (can include 2 if you want), the GTA franchise and many others support my point. They offer hundreds of hours of playability only from the single player modes thanks to rich open world's, rich narrative and great replay value. I have had Red Dead Redemption since launch day and still play it frequently to this day.

Now in some cases online multiplayer is fine but not in recent times. Take GTA online for example. In 2013 it was good but with the new updates and expansions it's not short of being unplayable with players flying across the maps and shooting you every time you spawn. Another issue is modders and tryhards who do their UTMOST best to ruin your and your friends game. I cannot walk in warzone without being sniped from the other side of the map or encountering campers. Single player is also more stable thanks to not requiring an internet connection and thus allows even people in Somalia to play without interruption. Also people are more peaceful as nobody in single player shouts or sings into a mic whilst you're playing. Believe me, we could all use some peace.

Lastly I would like to say this does not apply to all online games, but most. I'm not sure if this has been done before so if it has pls say and I'll delete.

Edit: some people are talking about co-op modes with friends. Co-op is great and I play it myself but playing with randoms is not so great most of the time as mentioned above. Co-op satisfies those who want story as well as those who want a social aspect in their games without the cons that associate with playing with randoms.

22.9k
1.9k comments
19.0k
Posted by3 days ago
PlatinumGold5Silver36

I was raised in an American "hood", i.e., a low-income, mostly black and Latino neighborhood with a high crime rate, poor-ish schools, etc. I don't say "ghetto" because ghetto is a mentality, not a geographic location. It is possible to be born and raised in such a place and not have the mentality of many of the low-life scumbags who stay there because they made bad choices. Likewise, plenty of people come from money and make bad choices and are more ghetto than some of the people in the hood.

And that is why most adults stay in those neighborhoods: choices. Although many refuse to believe it, choice is real. Everyone, no matter how poor or how difficult the situation they were born into, can decide not to get involved with crime and drugs and can decide not to have ten kids by ten different people before the age of 23. I was one such person who left "the hood" because I didn't make poor decisions.

I got a job, got out, and it wasn't that hard. Now I'm a published author ( a few short stories, one of which landed in an anthology for which I'm proud) and I'm working on doing the Amazon Kindle thing and moving to Thailand or India, where the price of living is a lot less and my US dollars from writing will go a lot further and I can do the digital nomad thing. And how am I going to "give back" to that awful, wretched, blighted neighborhood I grew up in? Simple: I'm not

Why do so many people think that anyone owes "the hood" anything? What, should I help out those people who jumped me when I was a kid for no other reason but that they were bored and I looked like an easy target? Should I track down the scumbags who bullied me for having the nerve to be a poor black kid who liked to read and give them my hard earned money? Should I help out the crackheads, gang bangers, and dealers who never did Jack for me?

I can't stand how so many people, almost all of whom have never lived in neighborhood like the one I grew up in, act like anyone who leaves owes those lowlifes something. Those of us who do keep our noses clean and work to better ourselves almost always have those ghetto scumbags try to hold us back. Why should we feel any obligation to help them? I'd rather donate to help Tibetans, Uyghurs, Rohingya, and other actually oppressed people than I would give a dime to people who CHOSE to drop-out and CHOSE to deal drugs instead of getting a job and CHOSE to make my childhood hard.

Edit for clarification: I got out of the hood not by being an author (which doesn't pay the bills as of now) but simply by working at a restaurant. I got a job as a busser and was promoted to server and me and another server became roommates at age nineteen. That's all it took.


Second Edit: Wow, this post blew up so hard that one would think I used a quantum computer to hack the Reddit servers and pack them full of antimatter. I was awarded more medals on this post than your average Central American dictator has ever even awarded himself. Thank you all so much!

Just so you know I'm not currently a full-time author but I am launching my series of fantasy novellas later this year. Right now I just drive for a logistics company and do a little freelance writing on the side. But hopefully in a few years I'll make enough from writing to live in India for a year or two while I study the Tibetan language and research for a Himalayan themed fantasy novel. Or I'll live in Thailand and research the beach. I'd rather be a digital nomad than a ghetto barbarian.

19.0k
2.1k comments
Continue browsing in r/unpopularopinion
Got a burning unpopular opinion you want to share? Spark some discussions!
1.9m

Members

12.7k

Online


Created Feb 14, 2012