North Carolina

UNC extends Mack Brown's contract through 2024

Posted December 14, 2019 8:15 p.m. EST
Updated December 14, 2019 8:16 p.m. EST

— The University of North Carolina and Head Football Coach Mack Brown have agreed on a one-year extension, Director of Athletics Bubba Cunningham announced Saturday. The extension maintains the terms of the original agreement and keeps the length of Brown’s contract at five years, now through the 2024 season.

Mack’s return has had an outstanding impact — not just in Kenan Stadium, but throughout the Carolina community,’’ Cunningham said. “Our students are winning on the field and doing well in the classroom, our fan base is energized, and we are all excited about building on the great successes of this season.”

Brown, the nation’s only active Hall of Fame coach, is currently the winningest active coach in college football and his 250 career victories rank ninth on the FBS all-time list. The 2005 Paul W. “Bear” Bryant National Coach of the Year and the 2008 Bobby Dodd National Coach of the Year, Brown is one of a handful of coaches in college football history to lead two separate programs to Top-Five national finishes. He is also one of just five active head coaches who has won a National Championship.

“I want to thank the Board of Trustees, Chancellor Guskiewicz, Bubba and the athletics department for their great support,” Brown said. “You could really see things come together. Our fans have stepped up filling the stadium each week. I love what we’ve been able to do with our facilities and the excitement around the program has given us the opportunity to have one of the top recruiting classes in the country. North Carolina is a wonderful place and everyone can tell we’re building something special here. I’m having a great time. I love our staff and these kids and I’m planning on being here for a long, long time. Because Sally and I love UNC and Chapel Hill, we won’t coach anywhere else, which gives this place as much stability as anywhere in the country. Now, we’ll continue to focus on recruiting and preparing for our bowl game. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone at the Military Bowl on Dec. 27.”

In his first season back at the helm at North Carolina in 2019, Brown led the Tar Heels to a 6-6 record and the Military Bowl.

The six wins are one more than UNC had won in its previous two seasons combined (5) and the Tar Heels qualified for a bowl game for the first time since 2016. Carolina played close games seemingly all season. Its nine games decided by seven points or less were the most since 1936. The Tar Heels’ six losses came by a total of just 26 points and the combined records of those teams was 52-11.

Listen & Watch
  • Premier League Soccer: “Chelsea v. Aston Villa”

    Today at 12:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NCSU Coaches Show: One With Wolfpack Football

    Tomorrow at 12:05 am on WRAL-TV

  • NFL: “Philadelphia Eagles @ Atlanta Falcons”

    Tomorrow at 1:00 pm on FOX50

  • IndyCar Portland

    Tomorrow at 3:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NFL: “Green Bay Packers @ New Orleans Saints”

    Tomorrow at 4:00 pm on FOX50

  • NFL: “Chicago Bears @ Los Angeles Rams”

    Tomorrow at 8:30 pm on WRAL-TV

Teams Score Time
North Carolina A&T 17 F
Duke 45
NC State   7:00pm
Mississippi State  
Georgia State   7:30pm
North Carolina  
Jets   Sun 1:00pm
Teams Score Time
Kansas 22 F
Coastal Carolina 49
North Carolina A&T 17 F
Duke 45
Illinois   11:00am
Alabama State   12:00pm
Kennesaw State   12:00pm
Georgia Tech  
Norfolk State   12:00pm
Wake Forest  
Oregon   12:00pm
Ohio State  
Pittsburgh   12:00pm
Florida   1:00pm
South Florida  
Middle Tennessee   2:00pm
Virginia Tech  
Rutgers   2:00pm
Toledo   2:30pm
Notre Dame  
Ball State   3:30pm
Penn State  
Boston College   3:30pm
Murray State   3:30pm
Texas A&M   3:30pm
UAB   3:30pm
Mercer   4:00pm
Iowa   4:30pm
Iowa State  
South Carolina State   5:00pm
Appalachian State   7:00pm
Eastern Kentucky   7:00pm
Eastern Michigan   7:00pm
NC State   7:00pm
Mississippi State  
Texas   7:00pm
Western Carolina   7:00pm
Austin Peay   7:30pm
Ole Miss  
Georgia State   7:30pm
North Carolina  
Jacksonville State   8:00pm
Florida State  
Utah   10:15pm
Stanford   10:30pm
UNLV   10:30pm
Arizona State  
Teams Score Time
Brewers 10 F
Indians 3
Yankees 3 F
Mets 10
Diamondbacks 4 F
Mariners 5
Brewers   6:10pm
Yankees   7:45pm
Diamondbacks   9:10pm
American League
Blue Jays 3 F
Orioles 6
Rays 4 F
Tigers 10
Red Sox 3 F
White Sox 4
Royals 6 F
Twins 4
Angels 5 F
Astros 10
Rangers 5 F
Athletics 10
Rangers   4:07pm
Blue Jays   4:35pm
Rays   6:10pm
Red Sox   7:10pm
White Sox  
Royals   7:10pm
Angels   7:10pm
Blue Jays   7:35pm
National League
Giants 6 F
Cubs 1
Nationals 3 F
Pirates 4
Rockies 11 F
Phillies 2
Marlins 2 F
Braves 6
Reds 4 F
Cardinals 2
Padres 0 F
Dodgers 3
Giants   2:20pm
Rockies   6:05pm
Nationals   6:35pm
Reds   7:15pm
Marlins   7:20pm
Padres   9:10pm
Teams Score Time
Cardinals   Sun 1:00pm
Jaguars   Sun 1:00pm
Chargers   Sun 1:00pm
Football Team  
Vikings   Sun 1:00pm
Jets   Sun 1:00pm
Eagles   Sun 1:00pm
Steelers   Sun 1:00pm
49ers   Sun 1:00pm
Seahawks   Sun 1:00pm
Browns   Sun 4:25pm
Broncos   Sun 4:25pm
Packers   Sun 4:25pm
Dolphins   Sun 4:25pm
Bears   Sun 8:20pm
Ravens   Mon 8:15pm
TOUR Championship
Pos Name Score Thru
1 Patrick Cantlay -21 F
2 Jon Rahm -20 F
3 Kevin Na -16 F
4 Justin Thomas -15 F
5 Viktor Hovland -14 F
5 Xander Schauffele -14 F
7 Bryson DeChambeau -13 F
8 Dustin Johnson -11 F
9 Abraham Ancer -10 F
NASCAR Cup Series at Darlington
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 11 Denny Hamlin 2
2 5 Kyle Larson 6
3 42 Ross Chastain 23
4 19 Martin Truex Jr 10
5 4 Kevin Harvick 9
6 1 Kurt Busch 3
7 2 Brad Keselowski 16
8 22 Joey Logano 11
9 17 Chris Buescher 34
NASCAR Xfinity Series at Darlington
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 9 Noah Gragson 8
2 20 Harrison Burton 6
3 22 Austin Cindric 24
4 11 Justin Haley 3
5 10 Jeb Burton 5
6 7 Justin Allgaier 4
7 23 Tyler Reddick 28
8 51 Jeremy Clements 15
9 2 Myatt Snider 9
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series at Darlington
Pos # Name Start Pos
1 2 Sheldon Creed 1
2 4 John Hunter Nemechek 6
3 52 Stewart Friesen 4
4 38 Todd Gilliland 8
5 75 Parker Kligerman 34
6 9 Grant Enfinger 12
7 18 Chandler Smith 9
8 13 Johnny Sauter 13
9 21 Zane Smith 10