Mountains Mentioned in the Bible - Map of the Ministry of Jesus (Bible History Online)

Map of Ancient Israel  Mountains in the Bible Shepherds See Angel and Hear about Jesus

Mountains Mentioned in the Bible

(In alphabetical order)

Mt. Abarim - The name literally means "the mountains across or beyond Jordan."

Mt. Ararat - The mountain or mountains where Noah's ark came to rest.

Mt. Bashan - The name denotes soft rich soil, and the territory was famous for its oaks and wild cattle.

Mt. Carmel - The scene of Elijah's sacrifice. The mountain is not to be confused with the town of Carmel, mentioned in I. Sam. xxv, 2ff.

Mt. Ebal - A sacred mountain from the earliest of times, where the stones inscribed with the Law were deposited.

Mt. Gerizim - Sacred from early times, this mountain is still the scene where the Samaritans hold the Passover.

Mt. Gilboa - The scene of Saul and Jonathan's death (exact location is under speculation)

Mt. Gilead - A mountainous region east of Jordan. It was the scene of the covenant between Laban and Jacob.

Mt. Hermon - A high mountain north of the Sea of Galilee, which very well could have been the scene of the Transfiguration.

Mt. Hor - The mountain where Aaron died. (exact location is under speculation)

Mt. Horeb - Most likely synonymous with Sinai. It was the scene of the burning bush, of the giving of the Law, and of Elijah's vision.

Mt. Lebanon - The central mountains of Syria, and famous as the source of timber for Solomon's Temple.

Mt. Moriah - The site of Abraham's intended sacrifice, and the mountain on which the Temple of Jerusalem was built. The Islamic Mosque of Omar resides on the site today.

Mt. Nebo - Range of hills forming the western edge of the Moabite plateau above the Jordan.

Mt. Olivet - The Mount of Olives; the scene of David's flight from Absalom; of Jesus' weeping over Jerusalem; and of His Ascension.

Mt. Pisgah - The headland of the Nebo range from which Moses saw the Promised Land.

Mt. Seir - The land of Esau; a mountain range identified with Edom

Mt. Sinai - The mountain where the Israelites encamped for nearly a year, and where the Law was given to Moses. Also called Horeb.

Mt. Tabor - The site of Barak's camp, some identify this mountain as the scene of the Transfiguration of Jesus.

Mt. Zion - The eastern hill of Jerusalem. It was the stronghold of the Jebusites, attacked by joab, and became the site of David's palace and the Temple.

Isaiah 52:7 - How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that bringeth good tidings, that publisheth peace; that bringeth good tidings of good, that publisheth salvation; that saith unto Zion, Thy God reigneth!


Jesus came to his home, the Land of Israel, which was the land promised to the first Hebrew, Abraham. The Lord established a covenant with Abraham and promised that one day his "seed" (descendant) would be a blessing to all nations. This was exactly why Israel was referred to as "The Promised Land." Jesus, the promised seed of Abraham was the fulfillment of that promise, and everything beautiful about the land of Israel is because of Jesus. The geography is only secondary, yet it is truly amazing how much the Lord adored the land of Israel because in it He not only saw the beauty throughout, but He saw landmarks that revealed the promises that God had faithfully kept with His people.

An understanding of the geography of the ancient world is of tremendous value in understanding the life of Jesus. It is a true statement that a good Bible atlas is an essential tool for any serious student of the Bible, therefore this map program was created. You can follow the yellow numbers on the map in numerical order.

You can look at the Map to trace the route of Jesus' ministry. Our focus is Geography and the life of Christ.

Map of the Ministry of Jesus


About the Map


1 Jerusalem

2 Nazareth

3 Bethlehem

4 Jerusalem

5 Egypt

6 Nazareth

7 Jerusalem

8 The Jordan River

9 The Wilderness

10 Cana of Galilee

11 Jerusalem

12 Samaria

13 Galilee

14 Nazareth

15 The Sea of Galilee

16 All Galilee

17 Capernaum

18 Jerusalem

19 Nain

20 Capernaum

21 Sea of Galilee

22 Nazareth

23 Sea of Galilee

24 Tyre and Sidon

25 Bethsaida

26 Caesarea Philippi

27 Capernaum

28 Jerusalem

29 Bethany

30 Jerusalem

31 Beyond the Jordan

32 Bethany

33 Ephraim

34 Judea

35 Jericho

36 Bethany


Map of the Last Passover and Death of Jesus


Map of the Last Passover and Death of Jesus

1 The Golden Gate

2 The Temple

3 The Court of the Gentiles

4 The Last Supper

5 The Garden of Gethsemane

6 House of Caiaphas

7 Fortress of Antonia

8 Herod's Palace

9 Hasmonaean Palace

10 Golgotha







Map of the Ministry of Jesus

Bible History Online

The Story of the Bible

© Bible History Online (

Related Content