Historical Fiction Books

Historical Fiction

Historical fiction presents a story set in the past, often during a significant time period. In historical fiction, the time period is an important part of the setting and often of the story itself.

Historical fiction may include fictional characters, well-known historical figures or a mixture of the two. Authors of historical fiction usually pay close attention to the details of their stories (settings, clothing, dialogue, etc.) to ensure that they fit the time periods in which the narratives take place.

In some historical fiction, famous events appear from points of view not recorded in histor
...more

The Book of Longings
Incendiary (Hollow Crown, #1)
Where the Lost Wander
The German Heiress
Simon the Fiddler
The Silence of Bones
Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know
They Went Left
The Glass Magician
A Hundred Suns
The Age of Witches
A Stroke of Malice (Lady Darby Mystery, #8)
The Unsuitable
The Rakess (Society of Sirens, #1)
Elysium Girls
  • Colors of Truth by Tamera Alexander
    Colors of Truth
    by
    Release date: Jul 07, 2020
    Enter for a chance to win one of ten copies of Colors of Truth by bestselling historical fiction author, Tamera Alexander.
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 2990 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: May 18 - May 30, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper
    The Woman in the Green Dress
    by
    Release date: Jun 16, 2020
    Enter for a chance to win one of ten copies of The Woman in the Green Dress! The new historical novel by Tea Cooper!
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 2931 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: May 18 - May 30, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Lost Queen by Signe Pike
    The Lost Queen
    by
    Release date: Jun 04, 2019
    **FOR FANS OF OUTLANDER, CAMELOT, AND GAME OF THRONES COMES A NEW, SWEEPING TALE OF THE LONG FORGOTTEN QUEEN WHO RULED OVER ANCIENT SCOTLAND**

    From a l
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 6078 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: May 20 - May 30, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
    The Dutch House
    The Giver of Stars
    The Tattooist of Auschwitz (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #1)
    Daisy Jones & The Six
    The Henna Artist
    The Dressmaker's Gift
    The Nickel Boys
    Circe
    The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
    The Book of Longings
    City of Girls
    Before We Were Yours
    Everything My Mother Taught Me
    The Nightingale
    The Book Thief by Markus ZusakCatch-22 by Joseph HellerSlaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut Jr.Atonement by Ian McEwanAll the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
    World War II Fiction
    1,017 books — 1,766 voters
    The Name of the Rose by Umberto EcoThe Alienist by Caleb CarrThe Historian by Elizabeth KostovaThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz ZafónMistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin
    Best Historical Mystery
    1,675 books — 4,061 voters

    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeePride and Prejudice by Jane AustenHarry Potter Series Box Set by J.K. RowlingJane Eyre by Charlotte BrontëThe Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
    Best Woman-Authored Books
    6,635 books — 4,955 voters

    Token Huntress by Kia Carrington-RussellHail Strike by Brett ArquetteUna Historia de Ayer by Sergio CoboThe Law of Attraction by N.M. SilberBeatless by Amber L.  Johnson
    Our Favorite Indie Reads
    3,053 books — 3,283 voters
    Things Fall Apart by Chinua AchebeThe Poisonwood Bible by Barbara KingsolverHalf of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieHeart of Darkness by Joseph ConradCry, the Beloved Country by Alan Paton
    Africa (fiction and nonfiction)
    1,510 books — 1,610 voters

    The Book Thief
    All the Light We Cannot See
    Outlander (Outlander, #1)
    The Help
    The Nightingale
    The Pillars of the Earth (Kingsbridge, #1)
    Memoirs of a Geisha
    The Other Boleyn Girl (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels, #9)
    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    Gone with the Wind
    Girl with a Pearl Earring
    Between Shades of Gray
    Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, #2)
    Wolf Hall

    Related News

    While dealing with her husband's illness, this debut author turned to the refuge of Jane Austen's work. That refuge turned into her highly anticipa...
    Gwenn Wright
    How many times can a heart be shattered and still be pieced back together? How many times before the damage is irreparable?
    Gwenn Wright, The BlueStocking Girl

    The blind faith in some half-assed conspiracy theories lines up with the logic of having to believe in something with no questions asked. It gives us peace and comfort. As simple as I was, I found that resorting to this absolute nonsense was the root of all our problems. It was a road of willingly-learned helplessness, for no action could make a difference, thereby no action was needed.
    Asaad Almohammad, An Ishmael of Syria

    More quotes...
    Quarantine & Read Book Club Book club for the ladies who enjoy reading while quarantining!
    10 members, last active 1 days ago
    Books2Movies Club Have you read the book, seen the movie, neither – but you are eager to read and see both? Then t…more
    2,483 members, last active a day ago
    Great African Reads If you want to read Great African Reads - you've come to the right place! Here is an overview of…more
    3,014 members, last active 1 days ago
    Shut Up & Read A place for all types of readers.
    8,434 members, last active 8 hours ago
    One Life to Give: Excerpts
    5 chapters — updated Sep 23, 2010 08:04PM — 12 people liked it
    Forever Lost
    4 chapters — updated Sep 22, 2019 08:07PM — 0 people liked it