Food and Agriculture News -- ScienceDaily
Food and Agriculture News
November 21, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New research offers specific metrics that might qualify foods as hyper-palatable -- and finds most foods consumed in the United States meet ... read more

You Don't Have to Go Cold Turkey on Red Meat to See Health Benefits

A new study has found that halving the amount red and processed (RPM) meat in the diet can have a significant impact on health, reducing the amount of LDL 'bad' cholesterol in the blood which cuts ... read more

Early Rice Farmers Unwittingly Selected for Weedy Imposters

Early rice growers unwittingly gave barnyard grass a big hand, helping to give root to a rice imitator that is now considered one of the world's worst agricultural ... read more

Offering Children a Variety of Vegetables Increases Acceptance

Although food preferences are largely learned, dislike is the main reason parents stop offering or serving their children foods like vegetables. A new study has demonstrated that repeatedly offering ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:22am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Knowledge of the Origin of the Food Makes It Taste Better

Food we are familiar with tastes the best, but if we know where the food comes from and how it is made, it actually gets better, even if we don't think the taste is spot ... read more

Too Much Sugar Doesn't Put the Brakes on Turbocharged Crops

Plants make sugars to form leaves to grow and produce grains and fruits through the process of photosynthesis, but sugar accumulation can also slow down photosynthesis. Researching how sugars in ... read more

Intended to Help Human, Planetary Health, EAT-Lancet Diet Too Costly for 1.6 Billion People

A new study estimates that the Eat-Lancet Commission reference diet -- meant to improve both human and planetary health -- would be unaffordable for at least 1.58 billion people, mostly in ... read more

Nematode Fumigants Have Very Low Long-Term Impact on Soil Health, Study Suggests

It started with curiosity. How does a fumigant, commonly used for nematode management in potato cropping systems, influence soil microbial communities? To explore this question, scientists used ... read more

Origin of Deadly Wheat Pathogen Revealed

A team of researchers has uncovered the basis of stem rust pathogen Ug99's wide virulence, attacking a direct threat to the world wheat ... read more

Minimizing Post-Harvest Food Losses

Researchers develop biological methods to improve the shelf life of fruit and ... read more

Helpful Insects and Landscape Changes

We might not notice them, but the crops farmers grow are protected by scores of tiny invertebrate bodyguards. Naturally occurring arthropods like spiders and lady beetles patrol crop fields looking ... read more

Crop Competition as a Weed Control Strategy

A new study points to the formidable weed control challenges faced by growers today. Weeds have developed resistance to many existing herbicide options, and new herbicide discoveries have plummeted. ... read more

Harvesting Genes to Improve Watermelons

An international team of researchers has taken a comprehensive look at the genomes of all seven species of watermelon, creating a resource that could help plant breeders increase the domestic ... read more

Non-GM Produce Earns 'Halo Effect' Under New Labeling Laws

Consumers were more willing to buy unlabeled produce after being shown food tagged as ''genetically modified'' in a new study that comes two months before a new federal law, ... read more

Unexpected Outcomes: Damages to Puerto Rican Coffee Farms from Hurricane Maria Varied

Ecologists have studied Latin American coffee farms for a quarter century, and they tracked the recovery of tropical forests in Nicaragua following 1988's Hurricane Joan for nearly 20 ... read more

Scientists Enhance Color and Texture of Cultured Meat

Researchers are exploring the development of cultured meat found that the addition of the iron-carrying protein myoglobin improves the growth, texture and color of bovine muscle grown from cells in ... read more

How Rat-Eating Monkeys Help Keep Palm Oil Plants Alive

Found as an ingredient in many processed and packaged foods, palm oil is the most widely consumed vegetable oil. Now, researchers have discovered an unlikely ally for palm oil production: pig-tailed ... read more

Photosynthesis Olympics: Can the Best Wheat Varieties Be Even Better?

Scientists have put elite wheat varieties through a sort of 'Photosynthesis Olympics' to find which varieties have the best performing photosynthesis. This could ultimately help grain ... read more

Deep Water Sites Off the US Northeast Coast Are Suitable for Offshore Blue Mussel Farms

Offshore mussel farm sites need to have the right temperature, food availability, and the right currents. According to a study, several suitable locations can be found off the Northeastern ... read more

Accelerating Global Agricultural Productivity Growth Is Critical

The 2019 Global Agricultural Productivity Report, shows agricultural productivity growth -- increasing output of crops and livestock with existing or fewer inputs -- is growing globally at an average ... read more

Artificial Intelligence and Farmer Knowledge Boost Smallholder Maize Yields

Farmers in Colombia's maize-growing region of Córdoba had seen it all: too much rain one year, a searing drought the next. Yields were down and their livelihoods hung in the balance. To better ... read more

New Genome Sequence of the Date Palm

Researchers have developed an improved assembly of the genome for the date palm using long-read sequencing technology. This improvement over the current versions of the genome will help advance ... read more

Soil on Moon and Mars Likely to Support Crops

Researchers have produced crops in Mars and moon soil simulant developed by NASA. The research supports the idea that it would not only be possible to grow food on Mars and the moon to feed future ... read more

The Makeup of Mariculture: Global Trends in Seafood Farming

The process of farming seafood in the ocean, known as mariculture, is a growing trend yet little is known about the trajectories of its development. That's why a team of researchers set out to ... read more

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019