SOCCER: FIFA World Cup trophy history infographic
  • For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 FIFA World Cup trophy history infographic
Graphic shows the history of the FIFA World Cup trophy.


History of the FIFA World Cup trophy

By Chris Dinsdale

November 20, 2022 - December 18, 2022 - The FIFA World Cup takes place in Qatar, with 32 teams competing to be crowned World Champions. The FIFA World Cup trophy that the winning team will hoist aloft on December 18 was introduced in 1974, after Brazil won the previous trophy outright following their third World Cup triumph.

The original trophy survived World War II hidden under a bed in Italy by FIFA vice-president Ottorino Barassi. Stolen in England before the 1966 World Cup, it was found in a rubbish heap by a dog called Pickles.

The current trophy weighs 6.1kg and stands 36 centimetres high. Designed and made by Italian sculptor Silvio Gazzaniga, it is made of 18-carat gold with two layers of malachite, and shows two athletes holding up the earth “at the stirring moment of victory”.

The FIFA World Cup Trophy can no longer be won outright, it remains in FIFA’s permanent possession. The winners receive a gold-plated replica, known as the FIFA World Cup Winners’ Trophy.

PUBLISHED: 17/08/2022; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images