Set up partner sharing

You can share photos of specific people or share photos from a specific date onward. Photos will be shared automatically as they are backed up to your account.

Face group filtering is not available in all countries.

Share your photos with a partner

You can share your library with only one person.

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. Sign in with your Google Account.
  3. Click Settings  and then Partner sharing  and then Get started.
  4. Enter or select an email address. You can only invite someone with a Google Account.
  5. Select which photos to add to your partner account.
  6. Click Next.
  7. If everything looks right, click Send invitation.
  8. Optional: To find your partner’s photos, ask them to partner share with you after they’ve accepted your invitation.

To partner share with a different person, or receive an invitation, stop sharing with your current partner.

Filter by face groups

Face grouping technology isn’t perfect. Filtering by face groups may result in occasionally sharing photos that don’t actually have any of the people you’ve selected.

Filter by date

Sometimes, the date of the photo might be wrong. For example, if the photo was scanned, or the camera's clock wasn’t set correctly, a photo might have the wrong date. Filtering by date might result in occasionally sharing photos that aren’t within the date range chosen.

Accept a partner sharing invitation

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. Sign in with the Google Account that was invited.
  3. At the top, click Sharing .
  4. Click the invitation you want to accept. Then, click Accept.
  5. Optional: You can share photos back with your partner. At the top right, click More More and then Share back.

Tip: If someone you don't know starts partner sharing with you, you can block them. Learn how to block a person.

Find your partner’s photos

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. At the top, click Sharing .
  3. Click on your partner's name.
Save your partner's photos

If you save your partner’s photos, they’ll appear in your Google Photos account, search results and can be used for personalized creations.

Any photos you save from partner sharing won’t take up storage, unless your partner stops sharing their photos with you, or deletes the original copy.

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. At the top, click Settings  and then Partner sharing.
  3. Below "Partner sharing", click on Save to Account to see options.
  4. Click Save.
    • All photos: Any photo in the partner sharing will be saved.
    • Photos of selected people: Select from your face groups. When Google Photos recognizes any of those face groups from your partner’s photos, it’ll save the photos automatically.
  5. Click Done.
If you didn’t save a photo from your partner’s shared photos, and your partner deletes it from their Photos account, it will also be deleted from partner sharing.
Delete photos you recently saved from your partner
If you delete a photo you saved from your partner’s photos, it won’t be deleted from your partner’s account.
  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com/search/_tra_. This page will have any recently added photos, including photos you’ve saved from your partner.
  2. Select the photo you want to delete.
  3. Click Trash .

Turn off notifications

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. Sign in with the Google Account that was invited.
  3. At the top, click Settings  and then Partner sharing.
  4. Turn off Notifications.

Remove a partner

If you remove your partner, they can't find your photos and you won't be able to find theirs. You can still find any photos already saved to your Google Photos. You can always add a removed partner again.

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. Sign in with the Google Account that was invited.
  3. At the top, click Settings  and then Partner sharing and then Remove partner.
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?