CarShield | Better Business Bureau® Profile

⚠ Unsupported Browser Detected ⚠

Unfortunately this browser is not supported. Please use a recent version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge to view BBB.org.

BBB remains operational and focused on serving our business community.

Business Profile

Business Profile

CarShield

Auto Service Contract Companies
Headquarters
Multi Location BusinessFind locations

Business Profile

CarShield

503 Pearl Dr

Cottleville, MO 63376-1071

Additional business information
Advertising Review:

In April 2020, Better Business Bureau challenged a CarShield mailer.  BBB believes the mailer creates a false sense of urgency by stating:

  • “RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE REQUESTED”
  • “IMMEDIATE RESPONSE REQUESTED”
  • “Respond By: 8/3/2019”
  • “Our records indicate that you have not contacted us to have your vehicle ser…

Current Alerts For This Business

Pattern of Complaint:

BBB advises consumers to use caution if considering doing business with CarShield, a vehicle service contract company.  BBB received a pattern of consumer complaints alleging the company:

  • Employed misleading sales and advertising practices, including TV advertisements stating consumers will not be responsible for expensive repairs and can ta…

Contact Information

503 Pearl Dr

Cottleville, MO 63376-1071

BBB Rating & Accreditation

Years in Business: 16

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of BBB Rating

Reasons for BBB Rating

Customer Reviews

1.44/5

Average of 940 Customer Reviews

Customer Complaints

1,837 complaints closed in last 3 years

1,144 complaints closed in last 12 months

BBB Rating & Accreditation

Years in Business: 16

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of BBB Rating

Reasons for BBB Rating

Business Details

This is a multi-location business.Need to find a different location?

Headquarters
503 Pearl Dr, Cottleville, MO 63376-1071

BBB File Opened:5/9/2005
Years in Business:16
Business Started:1/12/2005
Business Started Locally:1/12/2005
Business Incorporated:2/11/2016
Type of Entity:Limited Liability Company (LLC)
Alternate Business Name
  • StopRepairBills.com
  • NRRM LLC
  • Auto Service Agency
Business Management
  • Mr. Nicholas Hamilton, Member
  • Mr. Mike Carter, General Counsel
  • Mr. Rick Brettelle, Member
  • Mr. Steve Proetz, General Manager
  • Mr. Mark Travis, Member
Contact Information

    Principal

  • Mr. Rick Brettelle, Member
  • Mr. Mark Travis, Member
Additional Contact Information

Fax Numbers

  • (636) 720-9814
    Other Fax

Phone Numbers

Email Addresses

  • Primary

Customer Complaints

1,837 Customer Complaints

Need to file a complaint? BBB is here to help. We’ll guide you through the process. How BBB Processes Complaints and Reviews

Most Recent Customer Complaint
Complaint Type: Problems with Product/Service
Status: Resolved
anonymous user
I purchased a contract with car shield on March 24,2021 for $99.99 on good faith now in may April 26,2021 I need carshield to handle my claim they want respond to my claim they took my money and want look at my claim they said they would take 2 days to come to the repair shop on April 30,2021 , now may 03,2021, they don't show up to the repair shop ,they have the decent to say or call me or the repair shop to they cancelled the claim and to have my vehicle setting in the repair shop for 13 days now they left me hanging, let's be honest Car shield aren't who they say they are, Having Ice T do a commercial as car shield can be counted on is a false commercial ,they are a fraudulent company and I am demanding my money back for march and April they think I was important enough to dare look at my claim, they ripped me off, and I feel real stupid right now,Now I have to pay out of my pocket to try and get my vehicle fixed, they are truly not reliable, now they has lost a customer ripp-off.Read More

Customer Reviews

940 Customer Reviews

What do you think? Share your review.

How BBB Processes Complaints and Reviews

Most Recent Customer Review
anonymous user

Jean W.

(1 star)

05/05/2021

Same thing happened to me as ***** ** Don't even pick your fingers up to dial the number. 1st they offer you a plan of $129 next $99 a month. If you are not prepared to pay they will hangup on you. Shame shame shame.
... Read More

Business Details

This is a multi-location business.Need to find a different location?

Headquarters
503 Pearl Dr, Cottleville, MO 63376-1071

BBB File Opened:5/9/2005
Years in Business:16
Business Started:1/12/2005
Business Started Locally:1/12/2005
Business Incorporated:2/11/2016
Type of Entity:Limited Liability Company (LLC)
Alternate Business Name
  • StopRepairBills.com
  • NRRM LLC
  • Auto Service Agency
Business Management
  • Mr. Nicholas Hamilton, Member
  • Mr. Mike Carter, General Counsel
  • Mr. Rick Brettelle, Member
  • Mr. Steve Proetz, General Manager
  • Mr. Mark Travis, Member
Contact Information

    Principal

  • Mr. Rick Brettelle, Member
  • Mr. Mark Travis, Member
Additional Contact Information

Fax Numbers

  • (636) 720-9814
    Other Fax

Phone Numbers

Email Addresses

  • Primary

Local BBB

BBB of Eastern & Southwest Missouri & Southern Illinois

BBB Business Profiles may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Business Profiles are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. BBB asks third parties who publish complaints, reviews and/or responses on this website to affirm that the information provided is accurate. However, BBB does not verify the accuracy of information provided by third parties, and does not guarantee the accuracy of any information in Business Profiles.

When considering complaint information, please take into account the company's size and volume of transactions, and understand that the nature of complaints and a firm's responses to them are often more important than the number of complaints.

BBB Business Profiles generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Profiles are subject to change at any time. If you choose to do business with this business, please let the business know that you contacted BBB for a BBB Business Profile.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Reports On

BBB reports on known marketplace practices.

See What BBB Reports On

BBB Business Profiles may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Business Profiles are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. BBB asks third parties who publish complaints, reviews and/or responses on this website to affirm that the information provided is accurate. However, BBB does not verify the accuracy of information provided by third parties, and does not guarantee the accuracy of any information in Business Profiles.

When considering complaint information, please take into account the company's size and volume of transactions, and understand that the nature of complaints and a firm's responses to them are often more important than the number of complaints.

BBB Business Profiles generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Profiles are subject to change at any time. If you choose to do business with this business, please let the business know that you contacted BBB for a BBB Business Profile.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.