The Best of Rufus Thomas: Do the Funky Somethin' - Rufus Thomas | Release Info | AllMusic

Rufus Thomas

The Best of Rufus Thomas: Do the Funky Somethin'

(CD - Rhino / Atlantic/WEA #72410)

Review by Richie Unterberger

The Best of Rufus Thomas: Do the Funky Somethin' is an overdue, career-spanning collection of Thomas' best material, centering around his Stax hits from the '60s and early '70s. The whole "dog" series of novelty dance songs from 1963-1964 is here, as well as the hit "Jump Back" and a clutch of Stax singles that weren't hits but became pretty well-known anyway, like "Sister's Got a Boyfriend" and "Sophisticated Sissy." There are also the early-'70s funk-dance hits "Do the Funky Chicken," "(Do The) Push and Pull," "The Breakdown," and "Do the Funky Penguin," a couple of '60s duets with his daughter Carla, and his 1953 blues single "Bear Cat (The Answer to Hound Dog)," the first hit on Sun Records. A few other compilations have gone into specific phases of his career in greater depth, but this is certainly the best overview of a man who offered some of the funkiest and funniest Memphis soul around.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Rufus Thomas 02:52 Amazon
2 Rufus Thomas feat: Carla & Rufus / Carla Thomas 02:46 Amazon
3 Rufus Thomas 02:12 Amazon
4 Rufus Thomas 02:36 Amazon
5 Rufus Thomas 02:36 Amazon
6 Rufus Thomas 02:28 Amazon
7 Rufus Thomas 02:40 Amazon
8 Rufus Thomas feat: Rufus & Carla / Carla Thomas 01:57 Amazon
9 Rufus Thomas 02:22 Amazon
10 Rufus Thomas 02:29 Amazon
11 Rufus Thomas 02:29 Amazon
12 Rufus Thomas 02:45 Amazon
13 Rufus Thomas 02:45 Amazon
14 Rufus Thomas 02:35 Amazon
15 Rufus Thomas 03:19 Amazon
16 Rufus Thomas 03:21 Amazon
17 Rufus Thomas 03:21 Amazon
18 Rufus Thomas 03:11 Amazon
19 Rufus Thomas 04:50 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick