One Up On Wall Street: How to Use What You Already Know to Make Money in the Market by Peter Lynch
Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “One Up On Wall Street: How to Use What You Already Know to Make Money in the Market” as Want to Read:
One Up On Wall Street: How to Use What You Already Know to Make Money in the Market
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

One Up On Wall Street: How to Use What You Already Know to Make Money in the Market

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  26,931 ratings  ·  1,154 reviews
More than one million copies have been sold of this seminal book on investing in which legendary mutual-fund manager Peter Lynch explains the advantages that average investors have over professionals and how they can use these advantages to achieve financial success.

America’s most successful money manager tells how average investors can beat the pros by using what they kno
...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published April 3rd 2000 by Simon Schuster (first published November 30th 1988)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  26,931 ratings  ·  1,154 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of One Up On Wall Street: How to Use What You Already Know to Make Money in the Market
Jacob
Jun 06, 2011 rated it liked it
While this is a good read, it's specific to Peter Lynch's personal investing style and dated enough that it's not entirely applicable anymore, so it is better read as a history or biography of Lynch's investing style than a guide on how to make personal investment decisions today. There's a forward written in 2000 in which Lynch provides one update to his material, but there should have been many more (such as noting what kinds of company information is no longer allowed to be provided only to i ...more
Ryan
Sep 12, 2007 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: poor people in general
dear reader,

well, hello! do you like my suit? i like yours! where'd you get it?! well, today i am dressed up like a business man because we are going to be reviewing a real business man's book! yep, you guessed it, you wily little bitch, that business man is the great peter lynch, not to be confused with the act of lynching which was a form of extreme racism that took place throughout the south during the early years of the civil rights movement! lol! ok let's go!


REVIEW:

main position:
many people
...more
Jasmine
A very helpful book for those who want to gain some basic knowledge about how stocks work in the financial market and how to select the best portfolio of securities. Lynch shared his experiences and told us how he felt or how he dealt with losses and success when investing. I personally liked this book and he made these seemingly difficult concepts so much easier!
George Jankovic
Jul 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Regular re-read (every 5-10 years) of one of my two favorite investment books. (The other one is by the same author.).

Peter Lynch was the greatest mutual fund investor of all time growing his Magellan fund to over $1 billion. His investment style is a combination of growth and value investing, so called GARP--growth at a reasonable price.

While he made most of the money in big cap stocks like Wal-Mart or turnarounds like Volvo, Ford and Chrysler, he loved investing in small caps. This book cove
...more
ScienceOfSuccess
Oct 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: waiting
One of the most interesting books about long-term investing I've found so far.

My favorite quote is "when someone says that 'A' is the new 'B', it usually means that 'A' and 'B' are going down".
...more
yamika
Jul 13, 2021 rated it really liked it
Need to read this again for better absorption. Still, a decent book. A little heavy, though.
Massgreen
Sep 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
 ManOfLaBook.com
May 26, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2009
This is a short book, but long on advice even, and especially, after the financial meltodown. It took me about 40 - 45 minutes to go through the book, but I'll read it again tomorrow and maybe again next week allowing the content to set in.

The book is a fun read and gives novices, such as myself, some basic fundamentals and concepts before we rush in (again) to lose our money (again) while the big boys rake all the profits (again) in the casino we all know as the stock market. There is no speci
...more
Chetan Wasekar
Aug 30, 2015 rated it really liked it
A must read for novice stock investors , oversimplified but drives home important concepts.
Andrew
Dec 14, 2014 added it
I originally picked this book because after I read a lot about Warren Buffett's investing I decided to see other people's style. This was a good read but it was specific to Lynch's style so it was not applicable to today's investment decisions. Peter describes how he came about developing his strategy for success. He talks about his past, his victories, and some of his failures. He describes everything that happened in an easy way to read. Anyone, including non-financial folks, can understand t ...more
Kathy
Jun 20, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Kindle Unlimited...so why not? Yup, I am old enough to remember Lynch's status in the world of stock pickers. I was not lucky enough to have a wad of money to invest in his fund early on, but those who did must continue to sing his praises.
I didn't read this when it first came out, but now with updated prologue it does provide some amusing tidbits. This man still uses the phrase dot com. Goodness me! I really have no idea how he has managed to avoid the internet all these decades, but that seem
...more
Bill#5
May 05, 2008 rated it did not like it
First book I haven't been able to finish in a while. It was outdated before the current financial collapse, now it's just stupid to read. Plus Peter Lynch likes himself way too much. Pass on this one and bury your money in the backyard. ...more
Cyrin Cyriac
Mar 08, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A very good book reinforcing the mantras of good long term investing.
Robert
Apr 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I'm currently working my way through the equity investing classics. One Up On Wall Street is among the best I've read. I decided to pick it up after watching a few talks by Peter Lynch and have not been disappointed – it is both informative and hilarious.

The central theme is that if you want to be successful in stocks, you have to find your edge. This is a point that many other classics skip over, instead jumping straight into the analytical techniques. Lynch continually emphasises the importan
...more
Derrick
Jan 02, 2008 rated it liked it
This was an assigned book for my MBA class in Securities Analysis. I learned from this book that the average (non-institutional) investor can pick winning stocks with the same success as professionals can. I am unsure about this, as I am highly skeptical any investor (professional or amateur) can beat the market. As a proponent of indexing - the idea that a broadly diversified fund invested in a basket of stocks - can beat actively managed funds, I found Lynch's advice not completely believable. ...more
Jay
Sep 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: bought, finance
For the folks gearing up to the world of stock market, this book is a must read.
It sets up your mind regarding how to choose companies that have the potential to become great.
It gives a good introduction on reading the balance sheets and you don't need any prior knowledge for understanding the views. But more than balance sheets it suggests us to pay attention to the world around to find the right stocks
...more
Nuno Oliveira
Feb 20, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Peter Lynch is an absolute genius! It was a pleasure to read this book
Graeme Roberts
Mar 31, 2021 rated it liked it
I have the impression that books about investing are generally awful—greedy, crass, self-promoting, illogical, and mediocre. It must have something to do with money. This one, written in the late 1980s, and published in this edition in 2000, is none of those things. It's just out of date.

Peter Lynch is a nice guy who talks in a relaxed way about picking stocks, providing numerous examples of his investments that failed as well as the occasional "multibagger" successes that returned ten times or
...more
Ardon Pillay
Jun 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Really great book on equity investing.

Lynch takes a great deal of time persuading the reader that the average man on the street has an advantage over the Wall Street analysts tucked away in their ivory towers.

He suggests playing to one’s strengths, using whatever specialist knowledge we have gathered to work out if a company is likely to see changes in earnings. Even our experiences as consumers can be quite telling, and may offer clues about the direction in which a company might be going.

It’
...more
Rory
Mar 06, 2021 rated it really liked it
A completely actionable manual from a Wall Street titan on how amateurs can successfully invest in the stock market. If this is the first investing book you pick up I'd advise reading a more technical and risk averse book for balance before starting out ...more
Adam Ashton
Jan 21, 2021 rated it it was ok
Glad I didn’t read this five years ago or I would’ve been screwed - some borderline dangerous advice in here if placed in the wrong hands/minds (like mine)
Rick Wilson
May 04, 2021 rated it really liked it
A quick, probably mandatory, read if you’re into investing. Much of it is fatherly wisdom and, anecdotal advice that Peter Lynch has accumulated over his career. It’s good wisdom and seems fairly true to my experiences trying to invest in stocks. That being said, it’s definitely personal and opinionated advice. I wouldn’t trust my whole portfolio to these rules. It’s more of a rough roadmap vaguely pointing you in the right cardinal direction
Anna
Mar 13, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I have read 5 or 6 'classic' investment books lately and this one was by far the best. It tells you 90% of what you need to know to start investing, covering all bases from categories of stocks to what numbers are the most important to check and what stocks to avoid, not to mention it's very readable. It's a classic for a reason and didn't age a day. If you only want to read one investment book, get this one. ...more
Sahib Chawla
The best book on stocks and markets anyone can get their hands on. The book gives Wonderful insights into studying diferent businesses and then going after stocks. Easy Read and Interesting examples makes this book, one of the pioneers in this field of study.
Benjy Shashinka
Dec 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is the friendliest and most approachable book on investing I've read. It's a mix of general investing philosophy, personal anecdotes and specific strategies for choosing, buying and selling stocks. He writes about his frequent missteps with regret but also the humor and perspective of one who has learned from his mistakes. Many investing books are written by authors who present themselves as ingenious laser-visioned mavericks who have reduced investing to a perfect science. Lynch, on the ot ...more
Vitalijus Sostak
Feb 19, 2021 rated it it was amazing
As for a book written 30+ years ago, it's still surprisingly relevant!

The book has two intros and the second one alone, written in late 1990ies, paints markets in colors that are uncannily relevant. Those were crazy times that have many parallels with current situation:
- stocks growing fast for years, e.g. Cisco up 480x since going public in 1990
- fundamentals do not matter, growth and future prospects are everything (favorite metrics: "eyeballs")
- huge market concentration, dozen or so big stoc
...more
Saket Singh
Aug 18, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Although outdated, the book helps develop the right mentality for investing in wall street. Without going deep into technicalities of the process, it definitely provides some key pointers to look into before trading. Lynch ensures to back his theories using facts and examples making it easier to grasp and remember. Overall 4.5/5. Definitely worth a read.
Reading Harbor
Jul 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
This is one of my favorite financial advice books ever.

Peter Lynch was a genius of his time. His detractors can argue the reasons WHY he was successful (luck, timing, etc.) but it is hard to argue with the fact that he was immensely successful.

In this now famous book, Peter describes how he came about developing his strategy for success. He talks about his past, his victories, and some of his failures. He describes everything that happened in an easy to read, colloquial sort of way. Anyone, inc
...more
Jai Gupta
Aug 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Peter Lynch does such a great job explaining how you do not have to work on Wall Street to be successful in the stock market. One Up on Wall Street provides a great overall foundation for investing and how people can utilize companies they know/understand and products they use and enjoy to make successful investments before the stock catches the attention of the large institutional investors. Lynch stated you only have to be right six out of ten times to be successful in the stock market, and a ...more
Adrian Bercovici
By far the best book i've read on investing so far.While there are a dozen books that cover the basics and and tell you what to look for when choosing stocks, this is the first one that tells me as a novice why a particular value on the financial statements matters.

Peter Lynch does an awesome job in splitting stocks into 6 categories (slow ,fast growers, stalwarts, cyclicals,turnarounds and asset plays).

After separating them , he goes on explaining what to expect from that category and what indi
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Any other Lynch fans out there? 2 8 Oct 08, 2020 09:23AM  
Goodreads Librari...: Please combine 2 121 Jan 12, 2016 07:51AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits and Other Writings
  • The Intelligent Investor
  • The Dhandho Investor: The Low-Risk Value Method to High Returns
  • The Warren Buffett Way: Investment Strategies of the World's Greatest Investor
  • The Little Book That Still Beats the Market
  • You Can Be a Stock Market Genius: Uncover the Secret Hiding Places of Stock Market Profits
  • A Random Walk Down Wall Street: The Time-Tested Strategy for Successful Investing
  • The Most Important Thing: Uncommon Sense for the Thoughtful Investor
  • The Little Book That Beats the Market
  • Warren Buffett and the Interpretation of Financial Statements: The Search for the Company with a Durable Competitive Advantage
  • Security Analysis: Principles and Technique
  • Rule #1: The Simple Strategy for Successful Investing in Only 15 Minutes a Week!
  • Margin of Safety: Risk-Averse Value Investing Strategies for the Thoughtful Investor
  • The Little Book of Common Sense Investing: The Only Way to Guarantee Your Fair Share of Stock Market Returns
  • The Little Book That Builds Wealth: The Knockout Formula for Finding Great Investments
  • Value Investing: From Graham to Buffett and Beyond
  • 100 Baggers: Stocks That Return 100-To-1 and How to Find Them
  • Buffettology: The Previously Unexplained Techniques That Have Made Warren Buffett the World's Most Famous Investor
See similar books…
See top shelves…
586 followers
Peter Lynch is an American businessman and stock investor. Lynch graduated from Boston College in 1965 and earned a Master of Business Administration from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in 1968.

Lynch worked at Fidelity Investments where named head of the then obscure Magellan Fund which had $18 million in assets. By the time Lynch resigned as a fund manager in 1990, the fund
...more

News & Interviews

For hard-core book lovers, the month of December is a mixed blessing. Those relentless holiday obligations tend to cut into reading time....
47 likes · 9 comments
“The trick is not to learn to trust your gut feelings, but rather to discipline yourself to ignore them. Stand by your stocks as long as the fundamental story of the company hasn’t changed.” 31 likes
“Know what you own, and know why you own it” 22 likes
More quotes…