Hollow Knight for Switch Reviews - Metacritic
Hollow Knight Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1561 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hollow Knight is a 2D action-adventure game with an emphasis on traditional 2D animation and skillful gameplay. Journey to Hallownest, a vast and ancient underground kingdom inhabited by a bizarre collection of insects and monsters. Players will forge their own path as they explore ruinedHollow Knight is a 2D action-adventure game with an emphasis on traditional 2D animation and skillful gameplay. Journey to Hallownest, a vast and ancient underground kingdom inhabited by a bizarre collection of insects and monsters. Players will forge their own path as they explore ruined cities, forests of fungus, temples of bone and other fantastic lands, all on their way to uncovering an ancient mystery. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Hollow Knight - Nintendo Switch Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    100
    There's never a low point. Only the desire for more. [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 17]
  2. 100
    Hollow Knight’s cryptic lore doled out in pieces leads me to believe I saved Hollownest in my ending, but an after-credits screen shows a 73% completion in 27 hours of play. I may have finished, but I’m far from done. I still have tons of upgrades, optional bosses, a true ending and a mantis to overcome. And I’m itching to jump back in.
  3. Jun 27, 2018
    95
    Hollow Knight won't leave you hollow; quite the opposite. This incredible 'metroidvania', most likely the best example the genre has met in over 20 years, will leave you full with a feeling only a few games have achieved: the feeling of having played a masterpiece.
  4. Jun 19, 2018
    90
    Hollow Knight is a big, beautiful, forbidding Metroidvania that's absolutely thick with detail. From its punchy combat system to its charming art and sound design, this is one of the finest adventures you can have on Nintendo Switch.
  5. Jul 16, 2018
    90
    Hollow Knight is absolutely a masterpiece. The art style is fantastic, the level designs are outstanding, and battles are challenging and fun. If you enjoy Metroidvania games, don't hesitate trying it.
  6. Jun 29, 2018
    90
    Hollow Knight confirms on Switch all the good it displayed in its PC version: we're talking about one of the best (if not the best) metroidvania of recent years, graced by gorgeous art direction and a fantastic level of challenge. A must buy if you're not afraid of difficult titles.
  7. Jun 27, 2018
    80
    Dark and beautiful, you’ll come for Hollow Knight’s visual appeal, but you’ll stay for the challenge and responsive combat.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 448
  1. Sep 28, 2018
    10
    This game has absolutely no flaws. It's undoubtely the best metroidvania game I've ever played, one of the best games on the switch to date.This game has absolutely no flaws. It's undoubtely the best metroidvania game I've ever played, one of the best games on the switch to date. If you still haven't bought this game, what are you waiting for?? Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2018
    10
    I’m about 10 hrs in and feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface of this game. My gaming life started with watching my dad play MetroidI’m about 10 hrs in and feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface of this game. My gaming life started with watching my dad play Metroid on the NES while my mom drew the maps by hand, and the then eventually playing Super Metroid SNES. This game expands on every metroidvania experience there has ever been. Great game, worth the wait. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2020
    10
    Good looking matroid-vania with an awesome gamefeel and interesting world. One of my favorites game on my N Switch
  4. Sep 10, 2021
    10
    This game does everything super well, the combat is simple, yet precise, the visuals, music, and sound design create a perfect atmosphere, andThis game does everything super well, the combat is simple, yet precise, the visuals, music, and sound design create a perfect atmosphere, and the sense of accomplishment you get from the metroidvania style of progression is huge. There's no world I've ever been sucked into like Hallownest's. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2019
    10
    Backstory (feel free to skip this part):

    I'm a 35 year-old professional who has a family, mortgage, and a business to maintain. I don't
    Backstory (feel free to skip this part):

    I'm a 35 year-old professional who has a family, mortgage, and a business to maintain. I don't have time to play video games, and hardly ever touch my PS4 which I've owned for years now. I bought a Switch on a whim with some long-forgotten gift card money I had, and was looking for cheap titles to pick-up to occasionally kill time.

    Hollow Knight caught my eye on MetaCritic's "best games of all-time for the Switch" list. This intrigued me enough to look it up on Nintendo's eShop on my Switch. As it turns out, Hollow Knight happened to be on sale for $9.99 at the time, to which I thought "Eh...what the hell. Let's give it a shot. It is only $10".

    Fast forward to today:

    I am currently 45 hours into this game, and simply cannot get enough of it. In fact, I still have a long way to go because I have every intention of fully completing this game 100%+. Everything about this game is a pure masterpiece, including:

    *The hand-drawn characters and level designs that are ridiculously detailed, along with the humorous
    dialogue between you and other characters you encounter on your journey.

    *The tight controls that make the navigation of this underworld so enjoyable. Heck, they even make.
    the most challenging of boss battles feel like a fair fight, because you always feel like you are in
    control.

    *The soundtrack/score fits the melancholic aesthetic of the underworld that you fight and explore
    your way through, as well as the sound design of enemies, weapons, and abilities draw you in even
    further.

    I noticed that there are some complaints about the difficulty level of some of the bosses. There are, indeed, difficult foes that will require some time and dedication. There has been a few times where I've fought a boss over-and-over for 1.5 to 2 hours straight, but I always seem to find a combat technique or charm that I was not initially utilizing in order to defeat these foes. Sometimes, you have to continue to explore and find better charms, abilities, and upgrades in order to defeat adversaries you are struggling with. Isn't that just a typical part of this genre?

    In a nutshell: Hollow Knight is the best "Metroidvania-style" game that i have ever played (and I've played ALL the classics). I can't believe I only paid $10 (on sale) for this kind of quality and entertainment. Better yet, I can't believe a team of THREE people were able to come up with this much game, with this much detail, for so little money.

    Just do yourself and by this modern-day classic. I promise you've spent way more money on so so so much less.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2020
    9
    My disappointment is immeasurable, and my day is ruined, when it was all over.

    Hollow Knight is absolutely flawless in its story despite
    My disappointment is immeasurable, and my day is ruined, when it was all over.

    Hollow Knight is absolutely flawless in its story despite lacking in guidance.

    PLAY IT, PLEASE! Not going to waste your time with a review.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. if anyone here makes a bad review i will change your mind becuase in every game you dont judge at the start and you may have low hp and low attack but those things you get over time and find new people and unlock new things fight fun bosses and even make new friends this game makes you unlock stuff and makes you want to learn and seek more and how i think on the game is that you should try it out and i think the game is good it has lore and stuff you have to unlock and makes you want to unlock more. Expand

See all 448 User Reviews