Voices (2020) - Voices (2020) - User Reviews - IMDb
Voices (2020) Poster

(II) (2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Don't you want me baby?
nogodnomasters11 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
As a child, Lilly (Valerie Jane Parker ) becomes blind in a car accident which kills her mother, shortly after her father has passed. Raised by her aunt she becomes quite independent and hears voices of dead people, especially children. She doesn't realize she is talking to dead people as the voices are real to her. Madison is the main little girl who she converses with. The film opens with a teaser of Lilly tied down to a table in a dire situation.

The production is told with a vast number of flashbacks as I soon discovered there was only one blind person named Lilly and not two or three. The film is a horror genre, but refrains from the horror we usually see in a film. Has non-denominational religious overtones of souls and reincarnation. Pretty good for a low budget Indie. No weird hollow sound, no confusing camera angles.

Guide: No swearing, sex, or nudity.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Needs work
BandSAboutMovies3 April 2021
Warning: Spoilers
After visiting her father's grave, Lilly (Valerie Jane Parker, the 2021 version of Wrong Turn) and her mother get into a car accident that leaves her blind and an orphan. As she struggles with the loss of her sight, she starts to hear voices and just thinks that it's some form of synesthesia. The truth is that these voices are souls stuck in limbo looking for a way back into our world. And that way? Years later, it becomes Lily's unborn child.

Voices is the first full-length film by director Nathaniel Nuon, working with writer Daniel Hathcock (they also have a film called Paralyzed in production). They also have some known faces in this film, like Ashley Bell (The Last Exorcism), Jordan Ladd (Cabin Fever) and Leslie Easterbrook (Sgt. Callahan from the Police Academy series).

Somewhere in this film is a great idea and a good film, but it struggles to emerge. The central conceit of a blind girl rising past a rough childhood and the voices that helped her deal with the loss of her sight becoming either demonic or cold cases left behind is a fantastic storytelling engine that a lot can be done with. Instead, this movie is never sure what movie it wants to be. Is it a drama with bits of the supernatural? Is it a false memory story? An exploration of growing up with a handicap? Or is it all of these things at the same time and unsure of itself?

I wanted to like this movie more than I did, so I'll keep an eye out for Paralyzed and hope that the filmmakers will use this film - which trust me, has some worthwhile moments - as a learning experience. Judicious editing of twenty minutes or so would have gone a long way, too.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nothing earth-shattering
Abdulxoxo6 January 2021
Voices is a decent enough movie with good production value, creepy soundtrack and calm cinematography. The story isn't novel but works with the tempo of the film. The movies spends a lot of time on characterization especially that of the main character Lillian, we see her grow from a kid to a teenager to an adult. We see her struggle as she tries to fit it the society. We see her make friends and acquaintances and overall how she came to be the present day Lillian. Every stage is pretty fun to watch but they slow down the pace a lot, they spend way too much time on it, that they forget the bad guys and explain the supernatural elements of the movie like why do the spirits wants to be her "baby" why must it be her? 'cause she's blind? If so, are there not other blind women? Why the "voice" choose her? what's so special about her? Why not other women? And how does Diana knows, all of a sudden, about the supernatural things and that it's connected to Lillian? The third act, is a let down and felt rushed, the bad guys are laughable and somewhat cartoonish. The resolution of the conflict is too simple considering that much build up. The acting is decent; Tracy Adkins is pretty good in lead role, the supporting casts ranges from decent to good to atrocious.

Overall, Voices does a good job in terms of character development and has a good production value but the plot stagnates a lot.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Small film
jmbovan-47-16017330 July 2021
This is a small focus of a movie. It does what it tries to do, but it only has so much to give. Intriguing but somewhat empty emotionally. Or with plotting. Acting is variable but generally the main characters do well.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tedious and very, very long
mjsreg29 October 2020
I can't believe that I spent 108 minutes watching this movie.

There just is no need for this movie to be as long as it is. The story progresses so slowly that I lost interest 20 minutes in, but stuck with it.

The editing is awful - lingering far too long on takes where the character(s) just do nothing after their lines. Then there is the quality of the acting. It isn't too bad overall, but it seems the directing wasn't too great. There are quite a few shots that would have benefited from additional takes, if nothing else than to let the actors loosen up a bit.

At the end of the day, this movie wasn't enjoyable at all, and the lack of skill/craft really shows through.
29 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Really bad actors
nickpedersen9 February 2021
The dialogue is very lame and delivered without any feelings whatsoever! Its not a horror, so dont expect anything scary. I am really afraid that humans of today not are able to make good movies anymore.... Movies get pumped out faster than ever. But 9 out 10 is a total waste of money! I think this movie could have been okay if the main actress showed us a little skin here and there! Thats all she is good for...
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Terrible Acting
rotini-5258622 February 2021
Good plot....stupid women again.....dah.......actors reading off cuecards.....Worth a 3 at most.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The movie is actually pretty interesting
ham-ma24223 February 2021
Maybe the acting sucks a bit from some actors. Though the largest downfall is the atmosphere, that is inexistent. The topic is great and executed very well. So just for that I highly recommend to watch it. But because there is no atmosphere, it feels very amatuerish. So I'm giving a higher rating just to boost it up, coz it doesn't suck overall. The interesting part is how mediums/psychics live and that's the general idea of the movie.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So Bad
nikkiinwanderlust9 May 2021
The story had promise, but poor execution and even worse acting completely blows that out of the water. I really wish that I would have read the reviews before renting.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is this a Hallmark movie or what?!
cm_addison19 November 2020
Lame. Could have really done some scary scenes and plot, but fell way short. We couldn't even make it more than halfway through the movie with their overly cheery empathetic silver-lining cloud life theory.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
6th sense rip-off
salviolog1 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
A story of a girl who had suffered severe eyesight damage with a completely unnecessary supernatural element in it. A young girl loses eyesight early on in life and she has to cope with this shattering event that changes her life... and oh, she can also talk to ghosts. Surprisingly, the real life portion of the movie is much more engaging than the ghost part. The movie also has a mystery element to it, but it is left with an unsatisfying resolve, under-explained and all around sloppily thrown together. The movie has some good acting and some good story elements to it, but it's stretched way too thinly.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Starts Good and then...
sparrish223 February 2021
Nice buildup and introduction of characters. good directing. Interesting story - for 45 minutes. Then it drops off into cliché Hollywood horror/suspense. Why do the do that. Watch the first half and if your enjoying it, go forth. But you will miss nothing if you bail out after 45 minutes. By the way, bad acting.

Family Friendly? Bad Language, sexual references, drinking. A nude woman has an image of an unborn child in her groin. It pretty graphic.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Real Talk Time
tp-692245 November 2020
I liked this movie. It made me feel engaged! I wanted to know what would happen next. Not bad at all. I enjoyed it. The quality was really good. I don't enjoy scary movies, personally, but I enjoyed the quality of the cinematography.
5 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total waste of 1.48 minutes
jamesmorrison-7821425 February 2021
Don't often do reviews but this is a total tragedy of a film, acting bad, storyline bad, everything bad. Avoid
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sucked
smeade-9885028 April 2021
Sucked, sucked and sucked. Waste of my money and time. Don't bother with this one.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good movie/bad acting
klouv03511 November 2020
Quick review: movie has great plot and main characters acting is decent but it was very apparent that all the male actors in this were actually acting and not life like. Poor performances from the males but other than that it was decent. Could have been better but for a horror movie it was good.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great watch for something new
vintagetoymarket18 December 2020
After watching this movie called, "Voices" I must say that it was totally something I was not expecting to watch. Me as a filmmaker I have to say that I am totally impressed with the overall story of this film. My initial thoughts right after seeing this film was WOW what a great story and really well told. Now, I have to say that there where some actors and actresses that to me personally should have had way more screen time. Not to give any spoilers away about this film, but the kid Madison to me was the real star of the whole movie. Not to mention the aunt as well, was just phenomenal in her acting. The doctor played by Tracy Adkins was just pure movie magic as well. I do not want to give away any spoilers because I feel like that would cheat anyone who would want to watch this great film. Let me just say that if you bring a date, your spouse, or even just a friend to watch this then you will not be disappointed at all. I really think this is a type of movie that will not keep you totally intrigued about what new twists are coming around the corner. But the story itself just keeps you wanting to see more and more of this movie. I loved it and I would recommend to anyone if you get the chance don't miss out on this film. If you watched voices then let your voice be heard, and tell everyone to watch this film. Because this is going to be something that you have not seen before on this earth.
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring, weird, and not very scary at all.
emipony30 November 2020
Couldn't follow along much with the plot. I also hated the CGI for the "spooky" people. Especially that last part of the movie. Like, okay what the heck. It was long and tedious, slow and agonizing to sit through.

Not really recommended. Unless you just want to snort and giggle at the faults this movie is cluttered with.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A whole lot of heart and soul(s)
alchemist20203 November 2020
This was my favorite movie I've seen this year. The concept is so clever. This isn't just a superficial horror story trying to scare you, there's a lot of depth and opportunities for introspection in your own life. It makes you wonder, where does the soul come from? I love stories that dive into life after death, and this one went deep. I greatly appreciate seeing the history of a person and what made them who they are. This movie takes us through Lilly's life adapting to being blind and experiencing tragedy, loss, horror. It shows us how one seemingly small moment can change the entire trajectory of your life. There are some very unexpected aspects to this story that ties everything together. I don't want to spoil anything. Cheers to so many strong and resilient female characters. Excited to tell people about this movie :)
6 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Memorable Story
extrumlovers3 November 2020
The story compels a rather interesting and ominous feel that gives a fully fleshed out perspective of life after death (a battle for what future you have or for others). I found the acting to show more of a serious portrayal and tense performance, but overall a significant representation to the steadily built up plot. The conflict within the emotions of the protagonist showed here throughout the movie, especially throughout each scene came together really well to signify the message of the movie. 10/10 because it's a conducive theme to the times we live in and highly appreciated with the dark twists and turns in a reality that channels into a supernatural but yet figurative direction.
7 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A well-rounded thriller
sunheechun28 November 2020
I loved this movie! I began the film expecting another standard horror story. However, not only was the plot both thrilling and thought-provoking, but it was also full of wholesome messages about family and friendship with some humorous moments as well. My only critique was the length of the film; certain scenes could have been cut, particularly from the flash-back scenes. Overall, I thought this was a well-rounded movie and would recommend it to others.
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best amateur movie of 2020
joshmman5 November 2020
This movie is engaging and keeps me entertained WHICH IS A LOT TO ASK FOR IN A MODERN HORROR MOVIE. quality is great and the acting is forgivable. Occasional inconstancy can only be noticed to people looking for them. Some scenes shouldn't be there as much as it feels some were cut inappropriately.
5 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
SUPER AWESOME, CREATIVE AND BELIEVABLE!!!!
garrypatterson-009946 November 2020
Nathaniel (Sith) Noun did a AWESOME, Job directingand making this film!!! He is very creative, and the special effects were AMAZING!! Great movie!!!
5 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
VOICES......creepy!
cdhuynh8 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed the movie, just the right about amount of creepy that it gave me goosebumps. I jumped at one of the scenes I wasn't expecting. It's like the ghost stories you hear growing up put on film. The demonic being at the end of movie could've been scarier. I felt the human ghosts were definitely creepier.
6 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Creepy and enjoyable
lilazndevil-537578 November 2020
This movie was enjoyable to watch. It has the right amount of scare factor. Some scenes that I didn't expect to scare me did! The director and his team did a great job! Would definitely recommend.
1 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed