Life in a Day 2020 (2021) - Life in a Day 2020 (2021) - User Reviews - IMDb
Life in a Day 2020 (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
6 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A balanced time capsule of 2020
ergine8 February 2021
Collecting videos from all over the globe, this YouTube movie is a balanced time capsule of human life in 2020. Keeping the view point with common people instead of directly depicting global events (or going full Koyaanisqatsi) it stays real, life affirming, and entertaining. While simultaneously avoiding being grandiose or cheesy.

A good watch for all of us locked in our rooms, houses, and apartments. Reminding us of the larger world out there.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
best thing from 2020
kevin c7 February 2021
Movie night with Gertie.

"Life in a Day" seemed groundbreaking ten years ago, but now we live in a TikTok era less so. So there's nothing groundbreaking here even thopiugh it's Covid and Black Lives Matter time, but it is entertaining and heartwarming.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Life in a Day 2020 2021 Review
chandean-697628 February 2021
A very nice and beautiful documentary about life, specifically on the day of July 25th 2020. It covers topics like covid, the BLM protests, pollution, life, death, love, work, meaning and so much more. This docu also did a wonderful job showing all walks of life, cultures, struggles, people with unique hobbies and more in a way that never felt forced or remodeled for the purpose of the documentary, it all felt pure.

I think my only complaint would be that I felt like it jumped around a lot and has no real transitions, but it all fit together nicely and compacted well in its hour and 20 minute run time.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Too Much at Times
Hitchcoc28 February 2021
I remember an old show called "Ben Casey" that began with the lead in, "Birth, Life, Death, Infinity." This is the task of this documentary which has had mixed reviews. The original was done in 2010 and this was a follow up. It must have been a monumental task. While there are some pretty gripping scenes, the editing was all over the place. Transitions were unclear and sometimes it was hard to see where things were going. Maybe a little voice over using poetry or some literary pieces would have helped. I suppose since so many cultures were engaged, that might be unfair. I stayed with it, but I never had the aha moment. Certainly worth a look.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Nice montage, lacking context
garethcrook7 February 2021
Following on from Life in a Day from 2010, we're now back again with an update, the 2020 version. Directed by Kevin McDonald again and executive produced by Ridley Scott (who I'm sure did sod all). It's essentially the same idea repeated. People film stuff themselves (324,000 videos we're told at the start), all shot on 25th July 2020, uploaded to YouTube and Kevin sticks it all together in some meaningful way. I can't remember a damn thing about the last one and ask me about this in 10 years... or maybe next month and I'll have forgotten. It's not that it's crap. There's some exquisite content here and it's interesting while you're watching it. But with no context given to the material, it's mere forgettable wallpaper. Some of it very nice wallpaper, shot beautifully in 4K, or underwater or a in staggering amount of drone shots. It does it's best with a dramatic start, a montage of women in labour and sunrises as cities wake up. Cows are milked, roosters crow, the world prepares for the day. It's fun, frivolous, a bit quirky. Most of the clips are cut too tight to truly enjoy, but there are some sequences left to breathe a little easier. In general the tone is kept light, hopeful, everyone sharing their best selves, with even the sadder moments kept brief. We get proposals and weddings, lots of masks and social distancing of course. Shot in 2020 this is inevitable and in a way that makes it a little more interesting as a document. We've had the births and marriages, Covid covers the death quota and it gets a lot of screen time, but all the big events of the year are here, the BLM marches and trouble in America does in many ways appear to carry the most weight. Ultimately it's a love letter to life, to humanity. I'm not sure it's really much of a success in summing us up or summing up one day in July, but it's pohsitive and that should probably be celebrated.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect.
aquelelucca16 March 2021
For what this movie proposes itself to do, it accomplishes it in a beaultiful result. If movies are the best of way of telling stories, this one does that in the most wonderful way - visiting all the corners of humanity and their tales in a well crafted way. I recommend this for everyone.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed