Parent reviews for Cool Runnings

Common Sense says

Delightful, tween-friendly story of Jamaican bobsledders.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 8+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 26 reviews

Wondering if Cool Runnings is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations.

 

Join Plus now

Adult Written byalistairkenakena July 3, 2016

A great show of breaking stereotypes

What we liked:
• They showed inspiring teamwork,
• The bobsleighing because Jamaica has never done it before,
• They showed great resilience,
• It was funny,
• They broke the stereotypes, even though everyone said they can’t do it,
• Showed us not to make fun of people who can’t do it or are different,
• Gave us hope!
What we didn’t like about it:
• In a part, when they argue, they didn’t show good teamwork,
• The part when they showed people getting injured and dying in bobsleighing might upset or scare young kids,
• The fight in the bar might encourage children to fight,
• Some light swearing, which may offend young kids.

We would recommend it to:
• Kids 7 and older.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byCrespoh69 November 7, 2020

Does have sexy stuff

Within the first 10 minutes one of the women comments on the runners behind. There's a kissing booth scene.

References to beer

Hell is used to curse a couple of times, specifically when the team is forming

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byJohn A. October 9, 2020

Rated PG (mild language, discrimination, infrequent mild violence).

SEX/NUDITY - One brief remark about the fact that a woman's name sounds like a "two dollar hooker". VIOLENCE/GORE - One scene features mild violence as a fight in a bar breaks out when a man punches another man in the face. PROFANITY - There is occasional use of mild bad language ("asshole", "bad-ass mother"). DRINKING/DRUGS/SMOKING - One brief humorous comment where a man asks another man what he is smoking, to which the man replies that he is only breathing, but you can see his breath due to the extremely cold climate. There is also some casual drinking depicted in a bar. THREAT/HORROR - None. OTHER - There are discreet moments of discrimination throughout, such as when the characters are laughed at for becoming an Olympic bobsled team because they are Jamaican. However, the message of the film heavily opposes the discrimination and instead focuses on the courage and triumphs of the men when everyone treats them differently.

PG - Parental Guidance, some scenes may be unsuitable for young children. Contains mild content, generally suitable for children aged 8 years and over.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent Written byalbizu August 14, 2020

Fun movie

It’s a fun movie that examples the importance of teamwork and more importantly, perseverance.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bymytwoturkeys August 8, 2020

Still a winner many years on

I enjoyed this film as a child, and many years later it hasn’t lost its magic. We watched it as a family, and both parents and Mr 8 enjoyed it immensely. A great mixture of comedy, and drama about perseverance against the odds. There’s some mild swearing (butt and ass to the delight of son) and a bar fight (which is more comedic than scary), but the themes are very positive. Character Sanka was very funny, a favorite with the kids. I liked that the film didn’t end in a predictable “win” at the end like most movies, and it portrayed a good lesson about coming first not being the only measure of success.
Miss 6 was a touch too young, she found the tension a bit stressful, and a lot went over her head.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 11, 13, and 14-year-old Written byTeacherMommy1 April 4, 2020

Can’t Go Wrong w a Disney Sports Movie

It was very cute with uplifting messages about sportsmanship, teamwork, going for your dreams and believing in yourself. There was a bit or cursing but not too much bc it’s a Disney movie. Was a fun story. And the characters are well done

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byBele33 February 22, 2020

Family Feel Good movie

While I'm not a fan of hearing the word ass repeated multiple times, the movie did have some good themes. The message my 3 children, aged 7-10, all picked up on was that the team never quit. I also liked how they didn't "win" the gold or change the ending of the true story. Kids need to know that they can work hard and still feel good about themselves even when they don't win. It's more about working as a team and doing the best that you can. It's healthy pride. This movie has that. Enjoy!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byLucyWoolf April 25, 2019

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byJames Owen August 8, 2018

Cool running movie

Very easy and fun to watch. Suitable for the whole family! Enjoy!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written byML F. December 1, 2017
Adult Written byJNSavage October 14, 2017

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written bycarmenm2 April 18, 2015
good for kids

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 November 9, 2014

Predictably uplifting story with attention-grabbing topic

The words "Jamaican bobsledding" are like "square tire"...they simply don't go together! Not to brag, but all you have to do is look at the DVD cover of this movie to see what it's going to be: John Candy in a refreshingly more dramatic role (Doug E. Doug is more the comic relief here) is the bitter, reluctant coach to take on a ragtag team of Jamaicans and make them Olympic champions. There's going to be them getting together, practicing, the conflict that ultimately unites them: this movie has no surprises except the ending, which only surprised me because I was unfamiliar of the true story. It's typical, comfort food Disney fluff, that has surprisingly a lot more profanities in it than I would expect in a PG film! I think the story is fine, but some references they make in "Cool Runnings" make this more of a tween-friendly movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Adult Written byjoseboy6799 August 16, 2012

cool runnings

cool film, got a positve messege to it, but is it a true story? cant tell!! still good. will attract kids. fighting in the bar but apart from that good!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 8, 8, and 10-year-old Written byNondug February 20, 2011

My kids loved it.

Funny story of the Jamaican bobsledders. The characters have to work hard and overcome struggle. Interesting look at a different culture (OK, a cartoonish representation of another culture). Curse words are used very infrequently.

This title contains:

Positive Messages