Katuvarpuset by Lorenzo Carcaterra
Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Katuvarpuset” as Want to Read:
Katuvarpuset
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Katuvarpuset

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  14,088 ratings  ·  827 reviews
Katuvarpuset on julma ja koskettava tositarina lapsuudesta, ystävyydestä, rangaistuksesta ja kostosta.

Neljä nuorta kaverusta 60-luvun New Yorkin Hell's Kitchenistä jakavat kaiken keskenään. Pojat viettävät huoletonta ja lapsuuttaan väkivaltaisessa, mutta silti turvallisessa kotikaupungissaan. He ovat vilkkaita ja keksivät melkein päivittäin erilaisia kujeita ja käytännön p
...more
Hardcover, 444 pages
Published 1996 by Otava (first published July 10th 1995)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Katuvarpuset, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Mary F Because, it appears, some folks are forever ok with bamboozling readers and pretending that breach of trust and false advertising, mismarketing is no …moreBecause, it appears, some folks are forever ok with bamboozling readers and pretending that breach of trust and false advertising, mismarketing is no big deal.

Oy vey.

(less)
Paul Lloyd Yes. I got a cassette tape version from my local library.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  14,088 ratings  ·  827 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Katuvarpuset
Supratim
Feb 23, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: true-crime
Sleeper (colloq.): 1. out-of-town hit man who spends the night after a local contract is completed. 2. A juvenile sentenced to serve any period longer than nine months in a state-managed facility.

Long time back, a movie buff friend had highly recommended the movie Sleepers. I never got around to watching the movie but remembered the name. While book hunting in a second hand book shop I came across the book and realized that the movie is based on this book.

The book presents a tale of friendship,
...more
Erin
Jar of Death Pick #36
Reading Rush: A book that inspired a movie you've already seen.

Sleepers is a movie that I've never really heard anyone talk about. I'm the only person I know who has seen it. And the only reason I watched it was because Brad Renfro(RIP) was in it. Ive discussed the huge crush I had growing up on Brad Renfro. I've seen every movie he was ever in. I feel like I need to rewatch the movie now because back when I originally watched (when I was 16) I thought it was boring but afte
...more
Ubiquitousbastard
Possibly the most disturbing book that I have ever read. After I finished it (I was fifteen), I walked around my house in shock muttering "oh my god" over and over. Originally I had picked it up out of a bookshelf without knowing what it was about, so the subject matter was more of a surprise than if I had known what to expect. I actually feel somewhat horrible giving this five stars, but it was an utterly engrossing and captivating book. Honestly, I wouldn't recommend this for most people I kno ...more
CaliGirlRae
I read this once when I was younger and have not read it since. I remember reading this shortly before the movie came out (which I had only seen about once or twice itself) and the events stayed with me ever since then.

The story was a harrowing one exploring the effects of how life can change in an incident with a minor mistake of childhood play. After a childhood prank that ends in the death of a local vendor, the four friends of the book are sentenced to a brutal juvenile prison where the pris
...more
Bren fall in love with the sea.
“The night and the streets were ours and the future lay sparkling ahead.
And we thought we would know each other forever.”
― Lorenzo Carcaterra, Sleepers

I both saw the film and read the book....a long time ago. I just realized I never did a review on this story.

This maybe in my top 20 as far as darkest stories of all time. It is about four boys, who are sent to a juvenile detention school and abused terribly. Lots of TRIGGERS in this one.

The boys grow up hardened, angry..and consumed by the need f
...more
Nick
Nov 01, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It was the summer of '97 and I got grounded for sneaking out of my bedroom window (again) to meet up with friends to drink warm, pilfered beers and smoke mexican ditch rat-weed (probably).
So while I'm grounded I read this book and I can't put it own. Because I read it so quickly, I still have a week to kill with nothing to do. So i read it again. I had friends come over to try and get me to sneak out again but i blow em off and say 'nah, im good actually, got this book im reading'. That's about
...more
Lee
Jun 29, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read this book many years ago when I was in high school and I wanted to re read it to see how I felt about it this many years later. It was still a very hard read. The first part of the book describes the relationships and friendship between the four boys, we get to know their personalities and characteristics and have some insight as to how each of them will cope in this hideous environment. The boys end up in some mischief which has dire consequences, they are sent to a reform school where t ...more
Nandakishore Mridula
The book is very well written and graphic in its portrayal of violence and sex, but I had a sneaking suspicion it may be mostly fiction even while I was reading it years ago. A quick search on the net now convinces me that there is a huge controversy regarding the veracity of the story.

If it's a true story, it rates five stars.

If it's fiction paraded as truth, it rates only one star.

Since there is no way of establishing the truth, I plumb for three stars.
...more
TheBookWarren
4.50 Stars — It’s rarified air, the novel that is so gripping it is immediately made into a movie that is a commercial and largely critical success. Once you get about 110-130 pages in, it’s indeed blatantly obvious why this is the case.

Written with polish, vigor and genuinely impactful sorrow ness, Sleepers is a tale all-to-familiar in modern western society. But — in mid 1995 — This wasn’t necessarily the case. It was scolded by time magazine, the New York Times and others for being ‘fools-non
...more
Kirsti
Oct 23, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The author, Lorenzo Carcaterra in his book, "Sleepers" tells the story as himself reflecting back to when he was a boy growing up in Hell's Kitchen (a city in New York) in the 1960's, and a place he and his three other friends were forced to go to after pulling a stupid prank that almost kills someone. This place is a juvenille facility that they soon find out will change their lives forever. There they endure unnecessary verbal, physical and sexual abuse from the guards that watch them.
Later as
...more
Ivana Azap Feješ
Jul 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: contemporary
I have cried so much... I don't know how can people be so evil - we are talking about the boys here!!! I cannot stand that - the idea that everything here is probably true (for this author), that this kind of thing really happens all around the world, is sooo heart breaking, I, I, I.... I cannot... The book is so good written, and of course Mr. Carcaterra implies that the book is based on a true story.... So many good descriptions of emotions, and characters, and places, and the horrific happeni ...more
Robin Reynolds
Dec 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: bookcrossing
The kind of book where you don't really want to say you enjoyed it, given the subject matter and the fact that it's nonfiction (although I've read some dissenting views regarding that, but more on that later), but it was definitely captivating. And during the part of the book set at the Wilkinson School for Boys, a nice way of saying juvenile detention center or reform school, there were times when I felt anxious and dreaded the next few pages. I don't think a book has ever done that to me befor ...more
M.M. Strawberry Library & Reviews
I have mixed feelings about this book after seeing the reviews about it.

I read this book as a teenager, one of my parents had been reading the book and it looked good to me so I picked it up after they were done with it, and enjoyed it. Back then, I would have given it at least 4 stars. It's been a while so I will admit I am foggy on many of the details.

Just this morning I was watching Law and Order on TV and in the credits was a writer named Lorenzo Calcaterra. I immediately recognized the name
...more
Chana
I read this book a number of years ago and believed every word. This time around I found myself skeptical. It reminded me of James Frey's A Million Little Pieces. It was too stylized and unlikely; I could believe it may have had its roots in truth but that doesn't make the story a full truth. The court case seemed particularly unlikely. It is a pretty well-written story but I don't see it as THE TRUTH, just a version thereof most likely. It could, in fact, be lies from beginning to end, but ther ...more
Bill
Feb 04, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery-suspense
This is a true story but it reads as fluidly as fiction.
A gritty account of young boys sent to a detention home and the brutality they endured from the guards. Hard to read at times, but compelling.
Jessica
Nov 09, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Geoff Hyatt
Jul 04, 2016 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
If you believe this is a true story, then I have a bridge I'd like to sell you.

None of this has ever been substantiated for a reason--it didn't happen. If one good thing came out of the A Million Little Pieces fiasco, it's that we don't have to choke down whoppers like Sleepers anymore. What begins as a passable memoir of a hard-scrabble childhood in Hell's Kitchen in the 1960s quickly strains credulity with twists ranging from the convenient to the absurd. Sadly, the greater truths of abuses w
...more
Essence Michelle
I absolutely fell into the pages of this book. I enjoyed every vivid characters and smiled at the fact that they were at one point real people. The story definitely provides a strong sense of reality that only one who has been abused can relate to. The author was able to convey such images to the reader that could bring one to tears.
The thing I enjoyed the most in this book was the love shared between friends. The main characters knew that no matter what happened in the world or how life changed
...more
Francesca
Sep 19, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was given this book by a friend of mine who is into gangster books. The plot really got me intrigued and I didn’t get disappointed. Very tough story as well. I am glad I have read it.
Ashley
*** There is talk that this "based on a true story is just that.....a story! But I'm going on what I read, and that its a telling a real part of a real mans past.

I had been intruded to this movie YEARS ago (I believe 1995-1996) and I knew it had a book on the topic but just never got around to getting it...Fast forward to present time, and I'm walking out a book store and there on a .25cents cart there it is!!!(so I get it!) I knew the premise of the story, as I said I seen the movie before, I
...more
Fishface
Aug 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: true-crime, memoir
This is going to be the book to beat this year for Best Read. It's a rich, involving memoir of growing up in Hell's Kitchen and learning to negotiate the ins and outs of that world. From there the rug is yanked out from underneath the author and his best friends and they end up in a whole new nightmare. What follows is apparently also a true story, but to me -- a revenge-minded grudge-holder from way, way back -- it reads like the unlikeliest of fairytales. Beautifully written. My only unanswere ...more
Kit★
Aug 23, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I pretty much read this book because I had seen the movie a few years ago. I can't really say it was good because of the horrific subject matter, but the author did a great job of telling the story. I could almost see the city, hear the accents spoken. I got emotional at the things happening to the boys, and I cheered when the vengeance came. ...more
Jeff Horne
Mar 28, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is disturbingly good. The story is excellent, but it truly is heartbreaking what happened behind closed doors at the Wilkinson House. This is my first book from Carcaterra, but I will for sure be back for more!
tiffany
Jul 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2019, true-crime
Sleeper: 1. Out-of-town hit man who spends the night after a local contract is completed. 2. A juvenile sentenced to serve any period longer than nine months in a state-managed facility.

I purchased this book for two dollars on thriftbooks almost two years ago and I regret that it took me this long to finally read it. It reads so fluently, each chapter melting into the next. It's one of those where you forget you're reading and when you finally look up you've finished one hundred pages.
I felt ev
...more
Sleepless Dreamer
Holy shit. I literally can not talk about this book. Each word I write doesn't manage to quite convey everything I think and feel. I'll just say this; this book is absolutely incredible. This book is going to stay with me for a long time. I feel like this review might be slightly spoilerly. Not anything major, I mean, everyone knows how this ends but still, read at your own risk.

The first part isn't too interesting but it's incredibly important. It sets the stage, in a way. The author has a way
...more
Sienna
Finding it hard to decide how many stars to give this one. This caught my eye in the true crime section at Barnes & Noble and I was excited to get my copy from the library (which took a couple weeks, because apparently, there’s only one copy of this book in one library in the state of Alaska). I was immediately drawn in by the prose and clearly the author has a great talent for writing - the strongest part of the whole book is easily the beginning, in which the author paints a vivid story of boy ...more
Selwa
Mar 04, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Oh man, how do I even begin to rate or review this book? I'll start with a synopsis, to buy some time ;)

Four boys from a grittier part of NYC in the '60s, the best of friends, have a rough-but-happy childhood. At some point in the story a prank goes wrong (someone almost dies), and the 4 wind up in a juvenile detention center upstate, where they are brutalized regularly by a quartet of guards. Fast forward 10-15 years, the two boys that turned to a life of crime happen to bump into one of the mo
...more
Dark-Draco
I remember going to see the film of this when it first hit the cinemas, so wanted to read this to understand the story some more. It's a tough tale to read. Four friends, growing up in Hells Kitchen, are mainly harmless and spend their childhood roaming free in the neighbourhood. But when one of their pranks goes wrong and a man is seriously injured, they are sent to a Reform School for Boys. Although their sentence is only for a few months, what they find inside is a group of guards determined ...more
Missy (myweereads)
“They are cries that change the course of a life, that trample innocence and snuff out goodness.”

Lorenzo Carcaterra’s book is based on the true story of a group of four boys brought up in New York's Hell's Kitchen during the 1960s. After nearly causing a man's death, the boys are sent to a reformatory. Here they are exposed to brutality by the guards, leaving them with nothing more than undying loyalty for each other.

This story is familiar to me from watching the movie Sleepers many years ago. I
...more
Fee
Apr 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: lives-of-others
This book was gripping and vividly depicted without superfluous detail.

The characters become very real, you want to reach out to them. I was immersed in the scenery. Even if you'd never been to Hell's Kitchen in the 60s you can be there in this book.

Written by one survivor of abhorrent abuse within a New York juvenile detention centre in the 1960s, this book depicts his life - and the lives of his three friends - before, during and after incarceration in the Wilkinson Home for Boys.

This is not a
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
What Was Your Favorite Scene? 2 28 Feb 11, 2019 01:19AM  
Carcaterra Told His Truth The Way He Had To 1 14 Sep 15, 2018 03:36PM  
Return of the Rog...: Sleepers by Lorenzo Carcaterra 12 12 Jun 18, 2018 08:12PM  
Adaptation: Book ...: Lorenzo Caracattera - 'Sleepers' Controversy 6 39 Jan 18, 2016 11:53PM  
Goodreads Librari...: Combine editions 2 78 Feb 05, 2014 09:07AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Quadroon; or, Adventures in the Far West
  • Dina's Son
  • Karnas arv
  • Kaip užauginti žmogų. Mintys iš vaikų psichologo smėlio dėžės
  • Petro imperatorė (Petro imperatorė, #1)
  • Petro imperatorė II (Petro imperatorė, #2)
  • Barakuda
  • Miškais ateina ruduo
  • Ragana ir lietus
  • Mums reikia vado? Prezidento institucija nuo Landsbergio iki Nausėdos
  • The Westies: Inside New York's Irish Mob
  • Gyvenimas po klevu
  • Benedikto slenksčiai
  • Priklausomybė
  • The Expert  Vegetable Notebook: Begins by helping you choose and care for your plants .... Ends by providing a permanent record of your growing year
  • A Passion for Baking
  • Top 10 Italian Lakes
  • DK Eyewitness Pocket Map & Guide Dublin
See similar books…
See top shelves…
506 followers
Number-one New York Times bestselling author Lorenzo Carcaterra's highly successful career spans more than 25 years of writing for the diverse fields of fiction, non-fiction, television, and film.

Born and raised in New York's Hell's Kitchen neighborhood, Carcaterra landed his first job in the newspaper business as a copy boy for The New York Daily News in 1976. He worked his way up to entertainmen
...more

Related Articles

  Kellye Garrett is the acclaimed author of the upcoming Like a Sister suspense novel, in which no one bats an eye when a disgraced reality-TV...
51 likes · 6 comments
“The night and the streets were ours and the future lay sparkling ahead.
And we thought we would know each other forever.”
15 likes
“Live then, beloved children of my heart, and never forget that, until the day God deigns to reveal the future to man, the sum of all human wisdom will be contained in these two words; Wait and Hope.” 11 likes
More quotes…