The Saxon Chronicles Series in Order by Bernard Cornwell - FictionDB
The Last Kingdom
  • Length:
    13 Books
  • First:
    October 2004
  • Latest:
    November 2020
  • Rating:

Series List in Order

Order Book Genre Date Rating
1 Historical / H 4.5 Buy
2 Historical / H 4 Buy
3 Historical / H 4.5 Buy
4 Historical / H 4.5 Buy
5 Historical / H 4 Buy
6 Historical / H 4.5 Buy
7 Historical / H 4.5 Buy
8 Historical / H 4.5 Buy
9 Action Adventure / AA 4.5 Buy

10 Action Adventure / AA 4.5 Buy
11 Action Adventure / AA 4.5 Buy
12 Historical / H 4 Buy
13 Historical / H 4.5 Buy

Book Descriptions for series: The Saxon Chronicles

  • Book - 1

    In the middle years of the ninth century, the fierce Danes stormed onto British soil, hungry for spoils and conquest. Kingdom after kingdom fell to the ruthless invaders until but one realm remained. And suddenly the fate of all England--and the cour...

  • Book - 2

    The last unvanquished piece of England, Wessex is eyed hungrily by the fearsome Viking conquerors. A dispossessed young nobleman, Uhtred is tied to the imperiled land by birth and marriage but was raised by the Danish invaders--and he questions where...

  • Book - 3

    The year is 878. Uhtred, the dispossessed son of a Northumbrian lord, has helped the Saxons of Wessex defeat the invading Danes. Now, finally free of his allegiance to the victorious, ungrateful King Alfred, he is heading home to rescue his stepsiste...

  • Book - 4

    The year is 885, and England is at peace, divided between the Danish kingdom to the north and the Saxon kingdom of Wessex in the south. Warrior by instinct and Viking by nature, Uhtred, the dispossessed son of a Northumbrian lord, has land, a wife an...

  • Book - 5

    In a clash of heroes, the kingdom is born. At the end of the ninth century, King Alfred of Wessex is in ill health; his heir, an untested youth. His enemy, the Danes, having failed to conquer Wessex, now see their chance for victory. Led by the sw...

  • Book - 6

    The fate of a new nation rests in the hands of a reluctant warrior in this thrilling sixth volume in the acclaimed New York Times bestselling Saxon Tales series. As the ninth century wanes, Alfred the Great lies dying, his dream of a unified Engla...

  • Book - 7

    New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell returns to his epic Saxon Tales saga with The Pagan Lord, a dramatic story of divided loyalties, bloody battles, and the struggle to unite Britain. At the onset of the tenth century, England is in...

  • Book - 8

    This eighth entry in New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell's epic Saxon Tales series brings to life the harrowing and turbulent tale of a nation torn apart by sectarian and religious strife, a political struggle dominated by dynastic riv...

  • Book - 9

    The ninth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London) -- the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit BBC America television series....

  • Book - 10

    Britain is in a state of uneasy peace. Northumbria’s Viking ruler, Sigtryggr, and Mercia’s Saxon Queen Aethelflaed have agreed a truce. And so England’s greatest warrior, Uhtred of Bebbanburg, at last has the chance to take back the home his tr...

  • Book - 11

    His blood is Saxon His heart is Viking His battleground is England "Perhaps the greatest writer of historical adventure novels today" (Washington Post), Bernard Cornwell has dazzled and entertained readers and critics with his page-turni...

  • Book - 12

    The twelfth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s New York Times bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England It is a time of political turmoil once more as the fading King Edward begins to lose control over his successors a...

  • Book - 13

    The final installment in Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling Saxon Tales series, chronicling the epic story of the making of England -- the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit Netflix series. THE FINAL BATTLE AWAITS… The epic conclusion to the...