Careers

 Careers

​​​​​​​

 

State Trooper

Trooper / Flight Paramedic​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Cadet​​​

 

 

 

MSP Diversity


 
 

RECRUITMENT CALENDAR | FAQS | MISSION

A MESSAGE FROM THE COMMANDER OF THE 

RECRUITMENT & SELECTION UNIT:

We are still hiring and accepting applications. We are currently hiring for the next academy class, scheduled for January 9, 2023. Please feel free to contact any member of the Recruitment & Selection Unit with any questions or concerns.

​​​​​









LEARN MORE BY TALKING WITH A TROOPER

If you are interested in a career in law enforcement, crime prevention, forensic science, homeland security, aviation, or cybersecurity, the Maryland State Police is for you. As a State Trooper, you can pursue a wide range of career opportunities where you can use your unique strengths and talents to serve the citizens of Maryland.

Captain Derek Peck Commander
Captain Derek Peck
Commander
Office: 410-653-4420
Sgt. Nicholas Iannucci Assistant Commander  
Sgt. Nicholas Iannucci
Assistant Commander
Office: 410-653-4281
Cpl. Tyrel Flowers-Jackson Recruiter  
Cpl. Tyrel Flowers-Jackson
Recruiter
Office: 410-653-4430
Cell: 443-618-7083
Cpl. Brook Schafer Recruiter  
Cpl. Brook Schafer
Recruiter
Office: 410-653-4430
Cell: 410-913-7929
 
Cpl. Alioune Niasse
Recruiter
Office: 410-653-4330

 
 

MARYLAND STATE POLICE IS SEEKING ACTIVE MILITARY, VETERANS AND MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL GUARD!

The Maryland State Police is actively seeking active military, veterans and members of The National Guard to serve as Troopers.

As part of Maryland's continuing commitment to our veterans, we are working to connect veterans with available services and programs. If you would like your contact information to be shared with the Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs (MDVA) and other State agencies please contact Recruitment Unit.

The Maryland State Police offers eligible military personnel, veterans, and their dependents the ability to utilize their GI Bill® Educational Benefits. The GI Bill® can be utilized throughout the Maryland State Police Academy, field training, and through the 16 month probationary period to follow. Military personnel are encouraged to visit http://benefits.va.gov/gibill/ for further information.

GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). More information about education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S.​

​​​​​

​​


 
THE FIRST STEP IN THE TROOPER/CADET APPLICATION PROCESS

To begin the Maryland State Police application process for the Trooper or Cadet positions you will be required to complete the first part of the Trooper/Cadet Application.*



*Applicants without internet access may contact the Maryland State Police Recruitment and Selection Unit at 410-653-4348 for alternative instructions.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT HOW TO APPLY AND THE MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS PLEASE USE THE LINKS ABOVE FOR TROOPER APPLICANTS AND CADET APPLICANTS.

APPLICANTS THAT RESIDE OUTSIDE OF MD, DE, NJ, PA, VA AND WV MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR A CONDENSED APPLICATION PROCESS. FOR MORE INFORMATION CLICK HERE

UNDER MARYLAND POLICE TRAINING COMMISSION REGULATIONS EACH CANDIDATE MUST BE ABSENT OF CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCE USE (3) THREE YEARS PRIOR TO APPLICANT ORIENTATION.​

 
​​












Barrack Recruiters' Contact Information​

Cumberland Barrack
​S/T Christopher Toey
​christopher.toey@maryland.gov​301-729-2101
Frederick Barrack
​TFC Adam Oleyar
​adam.oleyar@maryland.gov​301-600-4151
Hagerstown Barrck
​Tpr Jared Daniels
​jared.daniels@maryland.gov​301-766-3800
McHenry Barrack
​CPL Ralph Davis
ralph.davis@maryland.gov
​301-387-1101
Golden Ring Barrack
​TFC Charles Tiggett
​charles.tiggett@maryland.gov​410-780-2700
Waterloo Barrack
​TFC David Shiveler
​david.shiveler@maryland.gov​410-379-9700
Westminster Barrack
​TFC Thomas Adle
​thomas.adle@maryland.gov​410-386-3000
College Park Barrack
​TFC Qunicy Pinkney
​quincy.pinkney@maryland.gov​301-345-3101
Forestville Barrack
​Cpl. Dominique Rogers
​dominique.rogers@maryland.gov​301-568-8101
Rockville Barrack
​TFC Joshua Quase
​joshua.quase@maryland.gov​301-424-2101
Annapolis Barrack
​Tpr Erin Lowe
​erin.lowe@maryland.gov​410-974-3790
Glen Burnie Barrack
​TFC Daniel Wynn
​daniel.wynn@maryland.gov​410-761-5130
La Plata Barrack
​TFC Ashley Opirhory
​ashley.opirhory@maryland.gov​301-392-1200
Leonardtown Barrack
​Sgt. Case Rith
​casey.ruth@maryland.gov​301-475-8955
Prince Frederick
​TFC Shareef Lewis
​shareef.lewis@maryland.gov​410-535-1400
Bel Air Barrack
​TFC Enrique Reckeweg
enrique.reckeweg@maryland.gov​410-879-2101
North East Barrack
​TFC Gabriella Gagliardi
​gabriella.gagliardi@maryland.gov​410-996-7800
JFK Memorial Barrack
​Tpr James Montgomery
​james.montgomery@maryland.gov​410-537-1150
Berlin Barrack
TFC Seth Shubert
seth.shubert@maryland.gov
​410-641-3101
Centreville​TFC John Tucker
​john.tucker@maryland.gov​410-758-1101
Easton Barrack
​S/Tpr Ian Rola
​ian.rola@maryland.gov​410-819-4747
Princess Anne Barrack
​Tpr Kaitlyn Maggio
​kaitlyn.maggio@maryland.gov​443-260-3700
​Salisbury Barrack
​Tpr Ashley Romeo
​ashley.romeo@maryland.gov​410-749-3101
Criminal Enforcement Division
​Sgt. Todd Newcomer
​todd.newcomer@maryland.gov
​410-694-4700
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division
​Sgt. Stanley Slide
M/Tpr Matt Weimer
​stanley.slide@maryland.gov
matthew.weimer@maryland.gov
​301-428-0605
410-579-5959
Aviation​TFC Matthew Walsh
Sgt. Jenna Turner
​matthewc.walsh@maryland.gov
jenna.turner@maryland.gov
​410-238-5800
410-238-3500

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information