Kings of the Babylonian Empire - Bible History

Kings of the Babylonian Empire

Jeremiah 34:2 - Thus saith the LORD, the God of Israel; Go and speak to Zedekiah king of Judah, and tell him, Thus saith the LORD; Behold, I will give this city into the hand of the king of Babylon, and he shall burn it with fire:

List of Babylonian Kings from 625 BC to 542 BC
King of BabylonPeriod of Reign (Approx)
Nabopolassar625-605 BC
Nabu-kudurri-usur II (Nebuchadnezzar)605-562 BC
Amel-Marduk (Evil-merodach)561-560 BC
Nergal-shar-usur (Neriglissar)559-556 BC
Labashi-Marduk556-556 BC
Nabu-naid (Nabonidus)555-539 BC
Bel-sharra-usur (Belshazzar)552-542 BC

This chart reveals the Kings of the Neo Babylonian Empire (Chaldean). The Babylonian Empire began to be a world power in 625 BC after the fall of Assyria. Babylon continued its reign until 536 BC. During this period Babylon, located along the Euphrates River, was the metropolis of the East and called in the Bible the "city of Gold". It was made great and world renown by Nebuchadnezzar, its greatest king, who reigned in the days of Daniel and the Captivity of the Jews who were taken to Babylon after the fall of Jerusalem. Babylon was finally captured by the Medes and Persians under Cyrus as predicted by the prophet Daniel, and the Babylonian Empire came to an end in 536 BC.

Isaiah 14:22 - For I will rise up against them, saith the LORD of hosts, and cut off from Babylon the name, and remnant, and son, and nephew, saith the LORD.

Map of the Babylonian Empire During the Time of Nebuchadnezzar.

Also See: Map of the Babylonian Empire